Library Loot #4

It’s been months. I have no excuses. Life is…well…it’s life.

I’ve been teaching, and working at the after-school program, and coaching softball. Dad’s back in treatment. Our landlord is practically waging war against us, so we’re looking for a new place to live.

Life.

I went into a bit of a reading slump while being stressed about all the above things, but over Thanksgiving break, I came back with a vengeance. Between Nov. 20 – 27, I read 6 books! I’ll do a multi-month wrap-up in the next few days (I hope.)

Anyway, I went to the library. Here’s the loot.

library loot

At the beginning of November, I went into my local library because they were having a used book sale. I’m all about cheap books.I went in on a mission to buy children’s books for my classroom. As a new teacher, my collection is only just beginning. My students have independent reading time each day and they are to read books at their reading levels (or slightly above). This means I need a lot of books of varying reading levels and content to interest my class of very different fourth graders.

I went in, got a huge stack of books, and talked to the librarian at check out. I used to work there as a teenager, so we were talking about what I was up to lately. I explained that I was teaching special education at our elementary school, and they gave me the books for free. I am so thankful for anyone and everyone who supports teachers directly. I love you. You’re awesome.

jasonsuds_giggle

After the sale, I went upstairs and picked out two books:

  1. An Ember in the Ashes – Sabaa Tahir
  2. Salt to the Sea – Ruta Sepetys

I didn’t get a chance to start them until the end of the month (I was geeking out over some Owlcrate reads!), but when I read them, I flew through them.

I went back to the library and picked up the following books:

A Torch Against the Night – Sabaa Tahir

atatnreally enjoyed the first book in this series and I cannot wait to start this read. I honestly have no idea why I’ve waited so long to start this series in general. I love the concept, the characters, and the general flow of the plot. It has a male perspective, which I don’t get to read as often as I’d like.

This book is sitting on my desk and I keep looking at it. I’m currently powering through the Grisha trilogy, but as soon as I’m finished, I’m diving into ATAtN.

Unless I’m reading the next book I picked up on my library trip:

The Selection – Keira Cass

selectionThis is so not a Kacie book. I don’t read a lot of romance.

Remember when I picked up Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins on a whim? I was really surprised by how much I liked it. It was quick, easy, and was sort of like a palette cleanser. I’ve been reading a lot of books with dark themes lately, so I might want something a little different.

I don’t know much about The Selection, but I know it’s a dystopian/fantasy/romance. I know from people who’ve read it, that it’s not a heavy read. I also know that my family will poke fun at me reading a book with a pretty dress on the cover. Oh well. Haters gonna hate.

I can’t believe I said that.

Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard

redqueenI’ve always been a little unsure of this book. It has a lot of mixed reviews, and it received a lot of hype when it came out, but I’m going to try to ignore all that. I’ll watch some videos about it after I finish reading.

I finally picked it up because a fourth grade teacher that I work with read this and its sequel and talks about it a lot. She’s been waiting for me to read it for months, so I really need to follow through on that!

I’ll let you know how I like it.

tomhaverford_glee

Like I said before, I hope to be posting a wrap up within the next few days or so. I really want to get back into book blogging, but I’m not making any promises.

If you’d like to follow my reading updates and/or compare books, add me as a friend on Goodreads!

That’s all for now. I hope to see you soon!

kacie

Leave a Reply

