Top 5 Wednesday #20: Biggest Badasses

Good afternoon!

Today is Wednesday. It’s already been quite the week for me at school, but I’m getting even more excited about reading because I’m competing in a reading challenge against my fourth graders! This was decided upon today, but I’m planning on doing a whole post about it in the future. I’m excited.

Because today is Wednesday, I’m about to countdown a list of five of my favorite books or literary characters.

t5wfamily


As always, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. For a complete list of Wednesday-ers and topics, please visit the Goodreads group!


This week, we are focusing on the biggest literary badasses. This topic, as are they all, is subjective. Who’s to say which character excels in badassery more than the others?

Here are my favorite characters that can (more than) hold their own.

#5 – Arya Stark – A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin

I love Arya. She could sense that she was going to be in danger so she cut off all her hair and became a boy…not because boys are better than girls (because they’re not), but because she could hide that way. She became a a completely new person to survive and through this, has experienced an unbelievable amount of growing up. Go Arya!

#4 – Hannibal Lecter – The Hannibal Lecter series by Thomas Harris

Okay, guys. I had to include at least one villain on my list, right? If you know me at all, then you know that I love me a good villain. Hannibal Lecter is one of my favorites. He’s always speaking in riddles, often of literary origin, and even when things go extremely sour, he’s cool and collected. Actually, he’s extraordinarily calm. It’s creepy.

I love it.

#3 – Art3mis – Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Again, if you know me, you shouldn’t be surprised. I loved this book and want to reread it again and again. Part of that reason is my love of all the characters, but specifically Art3mis. She is an amazing video gamer and egg hunter (gunter) that she is leaps and bounds ahead of everyone…and she is a GIRL. Heck yes!

#2 – Mark Watney – The Martian by Andy Weir

Mark Watney was stranded on Mars with no possibility of rescue for years. That could get a man down, but not Mark Watney. He was pretty much doomed, but he kept going and trying to find a way to survive. He even kept a sense of humor about him, like it was no big deal.

#1 – Neville Longbottom – Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

I am putting Neville on this list more than that AMAZINGLY AWESOME SCENE IN THE SEVENTH BOOK/MOVIE WHEN NEVILLE KICKED SO MUCH NAGINI BUTT. *ahem*

Neville had a ton of character growth throughout the series. He started out that character that’s seemingly there just for humorous purposes, but then he evolves into so much more. I love Neville so much that I own his wand!


 

There’s my list, how about yours?

Which literary characters do you consider to be total badasses?

I’ll see you tomorrow, bookfriends!

kacie

Find me on:

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #20: Biggest Badasses

  1. I haven’t read Hannibal but I love the rest of your choices, especially Neville! He’s such an underappreciated character. Art3mis was so good in RPO! I want to reread the book some time before the movie comes out. I’m excited to try out the audiobook because Wil Wheaton narrates it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

