Book Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

knifeofneverlettinggoTitle: The Knife of Never Letting Go
Author: Patrick Ness
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Fantasy

I received The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness as a Christmas gift this year and it had been on my wish list for several months. I’d only read one Patrick Ness novel, but I had heard so many great things about the Chaos Walking trilogy that I needed to pick this one up.

Premise: 5/5

A boy named Todd is almost a man. He’ll be a man in about a month, actually. When a boy becomes a man in Prentisstown, something changes within them. Todd is the last boy in Prentisstown, meaning he has been left out of a lot by the men. That’s not the only thing odd about Prentisstown. There are no women. Oh, and everyone can hear your thoughts. All the time. In fact, you can hear every thought in town, coming together to form the Noise that is the world’s background. Unfortunately for Todd, that means that his thoughts are going to cause him to be caught and possibly worse, because Todd is running. But how can you hide from a world that can hear your secret plans?

Yes. Sold. This sounds AWESOME.

Plot Development: 4/5

The plot did wonderful justice to this premise. It was paced well and was everything that I expected it would be. I only have a slight issue with the believability of a certain character that I won’t talk about due to spoilers.

Characterization: 4/5

I enjoyed Ness’s characterization in this novel, even though I thought it could be better. Ultimately, Beginning-Todd is much different than End-Todd, which is pretty great. I also loved Manchee, Todd’s dog. I thought the Noise was pretty well done throughout the novel.

Writing Style: 3/5

This book took me a month to read. It was hard for me to be in the mood for it because of the writing style. It reminded me of The Maze Runner by James Dashner, which I did not like, in that it was really dramatic and withheld a lot of information from the reader. Every chapter ended in too much suspense, making me think “dun dun DUN” way too often. Overall, I was able to look past this because of the intriguing storyline.

Readability: 4/5

The overdramatic aspects of this novel, however, made this a true Young Adult novel. It definitely caters to the intended YA audience. Its language and content was appropriate for the audience as well. Sometimes, the Noise made the dialogue between characters really confusing, but other than that, it was pretty easy to read…when I was in the mood to do so.

Total Score: 20/25, avg. 4/5

4 stars

This is an obvious 4 stars. It took me a month to read because of some issues I had with it, but I liked it overall. It was an interesting read and I’ll more than likely continue the series.

I read this book for the #sixsquaredchallenge hosted by bookstacksamber! – Books to Start a Series

Have you read The Knife of Never Letting Go? What did you think?

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase a copy of The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness for yourself? Check it out on The Book Depository by clicking HERE.

One thought on “Book Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

  1. The way it was written bothered me at first too, but as soon as I got my brain to ignore it, I was able to zoom through the book. I’m glad you enjoyed it, but it sucks it took you that long to finish it 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

