Top 5 Wednesday #19: An Old Topic

Happy Wednesday, everyone!

t5wfamily


As always, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. For a complete list of Wednesday-ers and topics, please visit the Goodreads group!


This week’s topic is “Disappointing Eye-Candy: Books that looked beautiful, but were awful.”

I’m not usually a person that compares a pretty book cover to its contents, so I have nothing to add to this topic of conversation. Instead, I’ll be counting down a topic that appeared before I started my blog.

Top 5 Books I’ll Never Read. Ever.

#5 – The Mortal Instruments/The Infernal Devices/Shadowhunters – Cassandra Clare

Sorry, guys. I have never been interested in any books by Cassandra Clare. I’ve read so many wonderful things about them, but I can’t get over the fact that she started her writing career by plagiarizing works for her Harry Potter fanfiction stories. I just can’t get past that. If I hadn’t been around, lurking on the internet when that whole debacle went down, then maybe I could try her books anyway. However, I’ve been completely turned off to her writing and will most likely never pick up a Cassandra Clare book.

#4 – The sequels to The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Ugh. I couldn’t stand The Maze Runner. It was over dramatic and withheld too much information from the reader. I groaned through the whole book and will not pick up any of its sequels.

#3 – The Maximum Ride series by James Patterson

I was kind of excited for the original release of this YA series. I was excited because I had read the original adult fiction books by Patterson that this series was going to spin off from. I love When the Wind Blows and The Lake House, which was written about Max and the band of winged children. Once the YA spin off was released, I heard too many negative reviews for me to give it a go. I don’t want to taint my love for the original duology.

#2 – Grey by E.L. James

I’ll admit it:  I read the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy. Ugh, there. I said it. I read the first one to see what all the hype was. I hated it. When I discussed my hatred of the book with others, the general response was, “You haven’t read all the books so your opinion doesn’t matter.” Of course I had to read the rest of the trilogy!

Still hate it. I will not read the latest book, told from Christian Grey’s perspective. I can’t go for that. No can do.

#1 – The Vampire Diaries/Vampire Academy/ANYTHING VAMPIRES

I think the Twilight phenomenon ruined vampires for me. Plain and simple. No interest for any book or series involving vampires.

What book or book series will you never, ever read? Which books do you have reader’s regret?

I’ll see you later, friends.

kacie

Find me on:

 

 

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #19: An Old Topic

  1. I’m totally with you on The Maze Runner!! The first book did absolutely nothing for me at all, and I actually sat through the movie, too, which was worse.

    I didn’t know that about Cassandra Clare! Wow. That’s crazy. Is there somewhere I can read more about that?

    Like

    • Oh yeah, she lifted entire scenes from obscure novels and changed the names to fit her story. A couple readers happened to have read those obscure novels and pointed it out. Long story short, she was removed from the fanfiction website and people were outraged…the whole thing ended up with lawyers involved. It got nasty. You can read more about it here: http://fanlore.org/wiki/The_Cassandra_Claire_Plagiarism_Debacle (Click on the links, but use the “Wayback Machine” links when it suggests..they’re like screencaps of long since deleted web pages)

      Like

      • Wow, I’m definitely gong to read this tonight. That’s really horrible that should would do that — and that she got away with it. I think something similar happened with EL James as well in the Twilight fandom..

        Like

  2. I hated Fifty Shades of Grey also. It’s just bad. And don’t get me wrong – I read erotica and I’m ok with that kind of topics. It’s just so badly written and characters are awful. I read first two books and started the third one and couldn’t finish it. It was so bad.
    I will never read Twilight. Sometimes I don’t want to read books just because of the hype. And that happened with Twilight. I just don’t want to read it. And… I never read Harry Potter. I thought that I’ll never read HP series but now when Alan Rickman died I’m actually considering reading them. Maybe.

    Like

    • Oh man it was poorly written! That’s my main argument when I discuss how much I dislike the books. I also don’t like the way it portrays BDSM. I had an argument with a friend about it because she thought it was a beautiful love story of two people changing their ways to love one another….My point was that those ways were changed by force rather than choice…but I digress. I’ve read Twilight. I was into it for the first book when the Twilight phenomenon started, but then it went downhill (no surprise that 50 Shades started out as Twilight fanfiction!).

      I love the Harry Potter series and read them each upon release as I was growing up, but I’d almost like to read them from the perspective of never having read them until adulthood. Does that make sense? If you do read them, I’m interested to hear your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I agree with you. There was nothing beautiful about their love story, it was forced.
        I must confess that I’m afraid to read Harry Potter. Because of its reputation and because everyone likes it. But do they really like it because the books are well written or just because they read it in some particular period of their lives? But on the other hand, many adult people read series when books were first published and they loved them also. Ugh… I guess I really have to read them and find out, haha. And I will definitely make a review.

        Like

Leave a Reply

