Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

9754815Title: Anna and the French Kiss
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Anna and the French Kiss is not typically a book that I would read by choice. I’m not the biggest fan of YA Contemporary and am even less of a fan of romance. However, I’ve been reading a lot of dark and twisty books as of late and needed an easy, refreshing read that was just the opposite:  light and fluffy. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins definitely met this criteria.

Anna Oliphant is beyond mad at her father. She cannot believe that he is sending her to boarding school…for her senior year! How could he? Never mind that, he’s sending her to a boarding school in France. France! She doesn’t speak the language, doesn’t know anyone, and will be wrenched away from her friends and familiarity of home. How could he? Anna needs to learn her away around a new school in a new country, but luckily for her, she’s quick to find a group of friends. Not so luckily for her, one of those friends is the gorgeous and extremely kind St. Clair who is unfortunately seeing someone else. The thought brings her back to this:  how could her father do this to her?

Premise: 4/5

While this is your basic high school new student story, it does have one aspect that sets it apart from others:  it takes place in a foreign country. Even though that concept isn’t completely original, it has the potential to be unique.

Plot Development: 3/5

Too bad it’s not all that unique. The plot is extremely predictable, leaving the reader out of the suspense that is supposed to come with the buildup of a major plot point. However, the familiarity of the plot sequence of events and the basic story line adds to the lightness that I believe the author was going for. This book is not supposed to be deep and moving. It’s a cute, little ball of fluff, as it was intended.

I think.

Characterization: 4/5

Anna and the gang go through a series of events that lead to love, lust, heartbreak, and turmoil, and the characterization is handled pretty well throughout. It’s not the greatest, but it’s certainly not the worst either.

Writing Style: 4/5

I like Stephanie Perkins’s writing style a lot. It was easy to read and was successful in conveying Anna’s thoughts and actions throughout the novel. There were some moments that I had to re-read a page or two because Anna’s thoughts didn’t make rational sense to me, but I think that this might have been the author’s intention. She’s a hormonal teenager that is more than capable of making irrational thoughts. This comes across pretty well in the writing style.

Readability: 4/5

I read this book over a period of two days. I had a stressful week of work and it was nice to come home to something sweet and light to read. This book obviously didn’t blow me away, but it met the goal that I had set for it. It had fluff, but no smut, so I would absolutely recommend this to the Young Adult audience it is intended for. There are even a few messages in this novel that would be beneficial to teenagers, regardless of gender or sexual identity.

Total Score: 19/25, avg. 3.8/5

4 stars

I am scoring this novel four stars. I was looking for an easy read that didn’t require too much thinking and this hit the nail on the head. If I was looking for a book with a lot more meaning and the intention of invoking deep thought, this book would not have as high a rating as I am giving it.

Will I continue with Lola and the Boy Next Door or Isla and the Happily Ever After? Sure, but probably not right away. Next time I need a palate cleanser, however, I know where to look.

I read this book for the #sixsquaredchallenge hosted by bookstacksamber! – Books to Start a Series

Have you read Anna and the French Kiss? What did you think?

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase a copy of Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins for yourself? Check it out on The Book Depository by clicking HERE.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. I really liked this book. I wasn’t expecting much and maybe this was a reason why I was so surprised after finishing it. Lovely book.
    And nice review! Will you continue with series?

    Like

  2. This series is so fluffy and fun. I agree with you, they’re great books when you need a light read that doesn’t require a lot of deep thinking. I really enjoyed Lola too and still need to pick up Isla.

    Like

Leave a Reply

