My Most Owned Authors

Hello, everyone! For those of you who experienced the same snowstorm that I did, I hope all is well! I spent the weekend cuddled up in a pile of warm blankets and next to a pile of books. It was wonderful.

Today, I want to talk about authors that appear most frequently on my shelf or authors of whom I own the most books. Some of them have high numbers because I own the entire series. Others are auto-buy authors and I must have as many of them as I can find. In some cases, I only own two books by an author on this list, but I’m including them over authors I own more books for because I must have more. I’m choosing my 10 favorites.

Some of these will not surprise you at all.

Without further ado, here are my Top 10 Most Owned Authors:

#10 – Thomas Harris – 2 books (with a strong desire to buy more)

Thomas Harris is the author of the well-known Hannibal Lecter book series on which the movies are based. I currently own two of the books in the series, Red Dragon and Hannibal Rising. I’m working on completing the series, but I’ve only been looking in used book sales. I’ve read and re-read all four books in the series. I love them so.

#9 – Gillian Flynn – 2 books (again…I want to keep buying them)

I own Gone Girl and Sharp Objects. I borrowed Dark Places from the library, but I want to own a copy to complete my Gillian Flynn collection. This 2-book entry makes my countdown because I will continue to buy her works.

#8 – Chuck Palahniuk – 2 books (but have read many more)

I fell in love with Palahniuk whenever I was dogsitting at my brother’s house and found Fight Club on his bookshelf. In my own collection, I have Haunted and Snuff, but I’ve read Diary, Fight Club, Invisible Monsters, Choke, and Rant: The Oral Biography of Buster Casey. My grandmother started bringing me book after book from her local library. I need much more Palahniuk on my shelf.

#7 – John Irving – 3 books

I own A Prayer for Owen Meany, The Cider House Rules, and a collection of short stories called Trying to Save Piggy Sneed. When it comes to adult fiction, I enjoy Irving’s writing style.

#6 – Dean Koontz – 3 books

Wait…I only have three books on my shelf? I’ve read SO much more of Koontz than three books! My mother must have them somewhere. On my own shelf is Life Expectancy, Odd Thomas, and Tick Tock. Koontz is hit or miss with me, but Life Expectancy is one of my favorite books of all time.

#5 – J.R.R. Tolkien – 3 books

I own The Lord of the Rings trilogy! They’re all different editions which drives me nuts! I need to work on that.

#4 – Kurt Vonnegut – 3 books

I am surprised that I only have three Vonnegut books on my shelf: Mother Night, Slapstick, and Slaughterhouse-Five. I’ve also read Cat’s Cradle and God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian. Vonnegut is one of my favorites and even did an author study in high school.

#3 – George R.R. Martin – 6 books

I own all five books in A Song of Ice and Fire and will purchasing the sixth book as soon as it is released! I also own A World of Ice and Fire, which is a history of the world in which the series is set.

#2 – J.K. Rowling – 10 books

Ahh, Harry Potter. I own all seven books in the Harry Potter series. I also own The Tales of Beedle the Bard and the Russian editions of books one and two. I have not read any of Rowling’s other works, in her own name and others.

#1 – Stephen King – 20 books

Are you surprised? You shouldn’t be. If I count The Green Mile as six individual books (which is how I received them and how they’re on my shelf) as well as the e-books I have on my Kindle, I own twenty books by Stephen King.

  1. 11/22/63 (e-book)
  2. Cujo
  3. Different Seasons
  4. Doctor Sleep
  5. Dreamcatcher
  6. From a Buick 8
  7. The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
  8. The Green Mile: The Two Dead Girls
  9. The Green Mile: The Mouse on the Mile
  10. The Green Mile: Coffey’s Hands
  11. The Green Mile: The Bad Death of Eduard Delacroix
  12. The Green Mile: Night Journey
  13. The Green Mile: Coffey on the Mile
  14. It (e-book)
  15. Just After Sunset
  16. Lisey’s Story
  17. Mr. Mercedes
  18. The Shining
  19. The Stand
  20. Under the Dome

I’ve read so many more. In fact, I am blown away by this list because I didn’t realize just how many King novels I’ve read. You can add The Dead Zone, Misery, Four Past Midnight, Finders Keepers, Carrie, Revival, The Dark Tower: The Gunslinger, Cell, and Everything’s Eventual.

Dang.

Who are the authors that appear most frequently on your bookshelf?

kacie

Find me on:

3 thoughts on “My Most Owned Authors

  1. So many Stephen King books! In my shelf, my most owned authors would be Cassandra Clare, Jennifer L Armentrout, Suzanne Collins,Aimee Carter and Agatha Christie (I didn’t name them in order) but these are just of my physical copies, there are a lot more of books and authors I wish I had physical copies of 😀

    Like

    • I know! But even as I look at the list now, I feel like I am forgetting at least one of his books! I used to own e-books of The Hunger Games Trilogy, but that was on an e-reader that I got at Borders, which no longer exists so…
      There are so many books I’ve read that I want copies for my bookshelf. Even if I know that I can re-read them at the library, I still want one for myself. Especially if it’s a pretty cover!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

