Book Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

shatter meTitle: Shatter Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Dystopian

Going into this novel, I didn’t know much about it. I only knew what was on the back cover:  Juliette cannot touch anyone without hurting them and possibly even killing them. An organization called “The Reestablishment” wants to use Juliette as a weapon, but not if she can help it.

This is not normally a book that I would pick up. I’m quite tired of the female protagonist, two male characters that may become love interests, end of society trend in books. I know that I’m reading this book late compared to some other books in this genre, but this book came out after The Hunger Games and Divergent. However, from what I’ve heard on BookTube and on multiple book blogs, I figured I’d give this one a chance.

Premise: 4/5

I like the premise of this novel. Juliette cannot touch people or she could kill them? Nobody knows why? Ooh, sign me up! Wait a second…the government has locked her up and now wants to use her as a weapon against her will? Okay! I wonder what’s going to happen! The only thing keeping me from giving this a 5/5 is the fact that it is not a completely original concept. It’s got its own twist, but it’s not entirely original.

Plot Development: 3/5

This is where it fell flat for me, guys. The plot was very predictable. Once the novel started to pick up speed, my predictions were all coming true. The only parts that I wasn’t able to predict the outcome were parts that didn’t make much sense to me. I’m going to try to do this in the most non-spoilery way possible. Let’s just say if you are off the grid, you’re not going to go with the flow when someone you know shows up at the door and says, “Some guy brought me here.” No, I’m sorry. The characters reacted a teeny bit appropriately, but mostly didn’t. Some of it was just completely unbelievable.

Also, insta-love. Yuck.

Characterization: 3/5

The characterization was okay, but it was nothing to sing praises to. The reader is definitely able to see the characters’ feelings and reactions start to change as the novel progresses, but some of the character actions just didn’t make much sense to me.

Writing Style: 3/5

Metaphors everywhere. It almost read like a John Green parody. Some of it is seemingly flowery for the sake of being flowery.

“My eyes break open. 2 shattered windows filling my mouth with glass.”

“He’s a hot bath, a short breath, 5 days of summer pressed into 5 fingers writing stories on my body.”

“I hate the lackadaisical ennui of a sun too preoccupied with itself to notice the infinite hours we spend in its presence.”

“His body presses closer and I realize I’m paying attention to nothing but the dandelions blowing wishes in my lungs.”

I’m sorry. I did more laughing than I should have while reading this book. I also did not like that sometimes, numbers were written out as words and sometimes the numerical symbol was used instead (three/3, five/5).

Readability: 4/5

Once I got past the unnecessary prose, I was sucked into this novel more than I would care to admit. I did enjoy its story for the most part. Even though I had an idea what was going to happen, I wanted to see how they got there and how it affected the characters’ emotions.

Total Score: 17/25, avg. 3.4/5

3 stars

Overall, it was alright. I’m giving this novel three stars. It was just okay. I hear that the rest of the trilogy gets better, but I don’t think I’ll be continuing with this series. The interest is just not there. Maybe if I one day have a hankering for YA Dystopian, I might pick this series back up again. Who knows?

I read this book for the #sixsquaredchallenge hosted by bookstacksamber! – Books to Start a Series

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase a copy of Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi for yourself? Check it out on The Book Depository by clicking HERE.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. I’m reading Unravel Me now and it gets better as the details unfold. But I’m so glad I wasn’t the only one that’s not a fan of the instalove thing. I also felt that the ending was a little abrupt, which also happened in Destroy Me. It was weird

    Like

Leave a Reply

