Holiday Loot 2015

Well, the holiday season as pretty much come and gone, at least for me. The school district in which I work is back in session on Monday, January 4, so I’m using the next two days to “be a kid” again. I’ve been in my pajamas, reading books, watching Netflix, and just hanging out. I’m not ready to go back into the real world yet. Sigh.

I did have a wonderful winter break and I am excited to see my students again! They’re going to be gushing all about the presents that Santa put under their Christmas trees and possibly even showing me the loot that they hauled this year. It’s rather adorable. I’m probably going to turn that into a writing project for them. Muahahaha.

But now, it’s time for me to gush about my loot that I hauled this year. This Christmas, I received some truly thoughtful gifts that I am really excited about.

From my sister, I received some chalk pens for my board at school (my school still uses chalkboards!) as well as some teacher stamps for grading papers! Along the same lines, my eldest brother and his girlfriend gave me about 1500 smelly stickers to give to kids. They also got me a 2 lb. jar of Dr. Pepper jelly beans with a chalk label that says “Miss Roberts.” Well…actually, it said “Mrs. Robertson” because one of my students just can’t get it right…

From my parents, I got the softest blanket I’ve ever had. It’s fleece on one side and a sweater on the other. I’ve taken it everywhere in my house since opening it Christmas day.

blanket

I also got a Fitbit Flex from them! I’ve been wanting a Fitbit for about a year now and I’m really excited to finally have one. My stats have been pitiful lately, but once I go back to work on Monday, my steps are going to skyrocket. Do any of you have a Fitbit? What do you think about it? I’d love to have some bookish friends to compete in challenges against. Add me, if you’d like: kacieanneroberts@gmail.com

fitbit

My other brother gave me Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. It’s beautiful with its black-edge pages and I’m excited to dive into this one. Thank you, mother, for giving him a list of books on my wish list.

six of crows

Every year, my mother’s side of the family does a gift exchange on Christmas Eve. This year, my mom’s brother drew my name and he gave me The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness and Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. (I’ve already started reading the Patrick Ness book. Check out my reading progress here.) He wrapped the books inside a plastic bin that will be very useful at school.

knifeofneverlettinggo queenofshadows

Yay books and teacher things!

I also ventured into my local library, so expect a Library Loot post coming soon!

See you soon and happy reading!

kacie

Find me on:

5 thoughts on “Holiday Loot 2015

  1. I can’t believe your school still uses chalkboards! We barely even have dry-erase boards anymore, everything is smart boards now.

    Yay for teacher things!! And your blanket is so pretty and soft looking 🙂

    Like

    • The elementary school just went through a 9 million dollar renovation and my position is brand new…so I’m the only one who doesn’t have a whiteboard! A select few teachers have smart boards, but I at least want a white-board to project on! My blanket is my own personal heaven.

      Like

Leave a Reply

