Tag | New Year’s Resolutions

Happy New Year!

yodadancing

I hope 2016 has started off fantastically for you and yours wherever you are!

I tend to avoid making resolutions. They’re very cliche, but they still hurt when you fail them. I have a general plan to do what I need to do regardless of the time of year.

What I like about the tag that I completing for you today is that it takes those tired resolution tropes and turns them into categories to choose books! Hooray! I can get down with this type of resolution.

(FYI: This post is not meant to offend any readers who like or make resolutions for themselves. These are merely my opinions.)

I was tagged by one of the creators of the tag, Emily of Embuhlee liest. You can find the original tag post BY CLICKING ON THIS MAGICAL CHUNK OF CAPITALIZED TEXT.

Get in shape – name a book that doesn’t quite fit on your shelf correctly

The World of Ice and Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin, Elio M. Garcia Jr., and Linda Antonsson – This book is not massive in the same way as the other books in A Song of Ice and Fire. Instead of being extremely thick, this book is extremely tall. It is on my shelf with my other books in this series, but it is on its side, spine facing upwards so that it will fit.

Eat healthy – name a book you feel was good for you to read

Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut – I know I talk about this book a lot, but it is my favorite book of all time. It’s the first book that made me really think about something real and the implications of things that really affect people.

Read more – name a book you keep telling yourself to read but haven’t yet

There are so many books on my shelf that I keep telling myself to read, but I haven’t been in the mood. One of them is A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin. I read half of the book a couple of years ago, but was suddenly busy with school. I think I haven’t picked it up since because I have no idea when the next book is coming out. I’m not all that pressured because of this.

I also need to read Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff and Doctor Sleep by Stephen King.

Quit smoking – name a book you kept going back to even though you had finished it

I don’t mean to be repetitive, but I’ve read Slaughterhouse-Five at least ten times.

Save more money – name a book you got for a really good price

I got Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo for three dollars. I liked it so much that I recently purchased the rest of the trilogy on amazon for about ten dollars each.

Be more organized – how do you organize your bookshelf?

My bookshelf is very small and is overflowing. I really need a new one and might be purchasing one in the near future. I organized it by color once, but the shelves were too hard to maintain. Right now, it is in library-perfect alphabetical order.

Be punctual – shortest time and longest time it took you to read a book

I can read a lengthy novella easily in one sitting in an hour or two (depending on the novella). I think Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption in about two hours. It took me nearly a year to read A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin. I found it to be the driest of the series and I was also very busy in college.

Go out more – what book made you isolate yourself from the outside world?

Pretty much any book that I’m enjoying will cause this. More specifically, if I have a personal connection to the story, I’ll need more time to myself. For example, I read The Fault in Our Stars by John Green in about seven hours and needed the rest of the day to recuperate. When I was eight, my best friend died of a brain tumor, so this story really hit close to home.

Be unique – what was your favorite book of 2015?

My favorite book of 2015 was Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I’m already planning on re-reading it soon!

Be more personal – what book are you waiting for most this year?

I haven’t done a lot of research about upcoming book releases, but I guess I am excited for This is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp. I’m also excited for the final book in Stephen Kings’ Bill Hodges Trilogy as well as the next installment of A Song of Ice and Fire.

Really, resolutions? – what book do you promise to read next year?

I really need to read A Dance with Dragons. The new season of Game of Thrones is only a few months away and the rumor is that the next book will be out shortly, but who knows? All I know is that I need to finish it.

Well, folks. Let’s see if I actually read A Dance with Dragons this year. Cross your fingers for me.

Time to get back to reading my first read of 2016! See you soon and happy reading!

kacie

Find me on:

 

2 thoughts on “Tag | New Year’s Resolutions

  1. These are great answers. I don’t know some of those books but I’ll definitely be looking into them. I enjoyed Ready Player One as well. It took me a while to read but I keep thinking about it!
    Also, love the MAGICAL CAPITALISED PIECE OF TEXT – haha 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

