Top 5 Wednesday #18 | Books of 2015

Hello, book lovers!

It is the last Wednesday of 2015. My, how the time flies. It feels like only a few days have passed since I was freaking out about the year being half gone…now it is gone.

t5wfamily


As always, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. For a complete list of Wednesday-ers and topics, please visit the Goodreads group!


This week’s topic is Top 5 Books of 2015. I’ve read a lot of posts lately consisting of “best of 2015” lists and a lot of people struggled in narrowing down favorites.

I’m the opposite. I had trouble coming up with 5 books that I felt deserved a top spot.

Without further ado, here are the top 5 books that Kacie read in 2015.

#5 – Mr. Mercedes – Stephen King

Mr. Mercedes is a mystery/thriller novel by Stephen King. It follows a detective who was unable to catch The Mercedes Killer before retiring. The mass murderer contacts the retired detective and gets him back on the case…with disastrous consequences. It is the first novel in a trilogy that will be completed in 2016.

#4 – You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) – Felicia Day

I absolutely adore Felicia Day and this memoir was no different.  It was hysterical and provided a great insight into the creation of one of my favorite internet creations, The Guild. I flew through this book and I wish I hadn’t borrowed my sister’s copy and had bought a copy of my own.

#3 – Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

Unless you are completely new to my blog, you should know that I highly enjoyed this novel. And if you are completely new to my blog, hello! It was the first Gillian Flynn novel that I read and it turned me on to her other works. This novel kept me guessing and I was honestly surprised at my external response to Amy’s character. I’ve never been angrier at a fictional character than when I was reading this novel.

#2 – The Martian – Andy Weir

This book has been everywhere and with good reason. I haven’t seen the movie, but I’m sure it is as amazing as the book. I was seriously invested in the story and was laughing out loud while reading. The copy I had bought turned out to be damaged and I was sent a fresh copy (complete with signed bookplate!) from the publisher. It was one of the highlights of my year.

#1 – Ready Player One – Ernest Cline

You saw this coming. I flew through this book in a matter of hours and I’m honestly surprised I haven’t re-read this book yet. I made my mom read it and she told me that she wanted to immediately re-read it upon finishing. I loved this book to pieces. I love video games and all things 80’s. It was the perfect book for me. I cannot wait for the movie!


There you have it, my favorite books of 2015. I cannot wait to see what 2016 has in store for me.

See you soon and happy reading!

kacie

Find me on:

 

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #18 | Books of 2015

Leave a Reply

