Mini Book Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Hello everyone. Here I am again, saying that it’s been awhile since I’ve been active. The holiday season really sneaked up on me and my family! I haven’t done much reading since my last post, which was about wondering which book I should read.

As you can see from the above title, I chose Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. I read all but about 80 pages in one sitting, finishing it yesterday. However, I don’t have a lot to say about it, so here’s my first ever miniature book review.

195478561

Title: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Author: Becky Albertalli
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBT Fiction

I had some issues with Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, but they were completely personal issues. The protagonist, Simon reminded me way too much of a former friend of mine. A former friend of mine that over-dramatically flounced out of my life, complete with passive-aggressive e-mails and immature cold shoulders. The entire time I was reading this book, I almost wondered if he was actually the author but under a pen name. I know this wasn’t true, but the similarities between the two of them (families, personality, the tendency to read too far into things) were freaky.

I didn’t like how dramatic Simon was, even though he was supposed to be. I found myself saying, “…what?” at half of the things that he thought about things or how much he read into things. I didn’t understand where any of it was coming from. An example of this that really sticks out in my mind is when Simon asks a fellow male classmate, “Are we supposed to be doing something right now?” because he wasn’t paying attention. Simon is then worried about the implications of that question as if it suggested something sexual but was surprised when the boy he asked didn’t notice.

…what? I just don’t understand Simon’s reading so much into some really mundane things.

Other than the strong connection to that former friend, I enjoyed the plot of the book. I thought it was clever and written really well. I just wasn’t able to connect with Simon.

Overall, I say it was “okay,” giving it 3/5 stars on Goodreads. I’m not rating it any lower because I’m sure I would have loved it if it weren’t for the personal issues ruining it for me.

3 starsWhat did you think of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda?

Want to purchase a copy of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli for yourself? Check it out on The Book Depository by clicking HERE.

See you soon!

kacie

Find me on:

 

Leave a Reply

