Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas is Young Adult Fantasy/Romance novel with loose ties to “Beauty and the Beast.” A young woman named Feyre gets pulled into the faerie world against her will, being held captive by Tamlin, a dangerous and immortal Fae. As she survives in this new world, her relationship with her captor changes…and she will do anything to save him and the faeries she grew up hating.

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Premise: 5/5

The premise is what inspired me to read this novel after my disappointment with Maas’s Heir of Fire. I am finding that I love fairy tale retellings and “Beauty and the Beast” is one of my favorite fairy tales. I was so excited for this because I haven’t read a retelling for this particular tale.

Plot Development: 3/5

I wasn’t all that thrilled with the plot development of this one. It was somewhat fast-paced, but it read so slowly at times. So much happened in this novel before I even hit 50% completion. It’s almost as if there was enough content in here for multiple books, but it all happened in one.

I had a lot of believability issues with this novel. It had its fair share of problems for our main cast of characters to get through, but they were all solved so quickly! From the beginning, we are showed that Feyre is at a huge disadvantage because she is human, yet she is able to not only keep up with the fairies, but outshine them. Yes, I know some of the magic had been depleted, but still. I think this is why I felt there was too much content for just one book…If I were to draw the plot of this book with the typical “plot mountain” I was taught in eighth grade English, it would have so many ups and downs rather than just one climax, the peak of the novel. It was too much.

plot_diagram
Remember this graphic organizer? Imagine a lot more spikes.

Characterization: 3/5

Yeesh. I did not like Feyre…from the beginning. I couldn’t empathize with her. She complained about everything. She constantly put her own and others’ safety at risk because she felt like it. She did that whole “I’m not beautiful and dresses make me feel inferior to these gorgeous men” thing that I can’t stand in books. *sigh*

Then there was the romance plot to the story. It was basically Insta-love. They were making eyes at each other much too early. Some of it was understandable because of spoilery plot points I won’t go into, but it was still too much for me to believe.

Writing Style: 4/5

Maas does know how to write; I’ll give her that. Even through the slow, dry parts, I was able to keep reading. I just wish I liked the content more than I did. These less than desirable chunks of the book were better for me than in Heir of Fire.

Readability: 3/5

I do not like that this book is classified as Young Adult. If anything other than adult fiction, it should be New Adult. Heck, I’ve read novels aimed towards adults that skipped over the steamy parts more than this book did. The steamy moments in this novel were far too graphic for the intended audience, 12 – 18 years old.

Call me old fashioned, but I don’t like the idea of a twelve-year-old reading about desiring a man’s mouth between her legs (an actual line in the story), let alone the graphic sex scenes in this novel.

Total Score: 17/25, avg. 3.4/5

Overall, it was okay. I really wanted to like this book but found myself laughing at it instead. Just like Throne of Glass, I’m not sure if I will continue this series. 3 stars.

3 stars

Goodreads Status Updates:

12/05 page 94 22.0% “What.”
12/05 page 182 43.0% “This is a lot slower than I thought it was going to be.”
12/05 page 198 47.0% “Well this just got crazy sexual for a YA book…”
12/05 page 242 58.0% “Rhys is a pleasant one, isn’t he? Yeesh.”
12/05 page 248 59.0% “Yeah…that was WAY too smutty for YA in my opinion.”
12/05 page 329 79.0% “So much is happening in this book…too quickly, too easily.”

I will see you soon!

kacie

Find me on:

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

