Top 5 Wednesday #17 | Favorite Novellas

Ah, it’s so good to be back for Top 5 Wednesday, and to celebrate this, I am…going off topic.

This week’s topic is supposed to be “Favorite Audiobooks.” I do not listen to audiobooks. I’ve listened to one, only when I was struggling to finish Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (I had a migraine at the time and I really wanted to finish it but it was hard for me to read).

So. I’m picking my own topic. I was inspired by a topic in November that I missed, “Favorite Series Novellas.” As I haven’t read any novellas set in a series’ universe, I’m just going with Favorite Novellas.

t5wfamily


As always, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. For a complete list of Wednesday-ers and topics, please visit the Goodreads group!


What is a novella?

A novella is a long short story or a short novel. It doesn’t quite fall under either category.

Some authors publish collections of their novellas or they may also publish them one at a time.

As for me, I prefer to read Stephen King’s published books of novellas. Have you ever seen the movie, The Shawshank Redemption? Stephen King novella.

How about Stand By Me, a tale about some young boys (including a very young Wil Wheaton) who are searching for the missing body of a kid? Stephen King novella.

Ooh. Or how about Johnny Depp’s “Secret Window?” Stephen King novella.

Even some of Kings short stories have been adapted into popular movies (1408, Children of the Corn, to name a couple.)

For this countdown, I am going to focus on my five favorite Stephen King Novellas.

#5 – “The Langoliers”

In this novella, a group of people on a red-eye flight wake up on their plan to find that a lot of other people on the plane have vanished. This was probably the very first King novella that I ever read.

#4 – “The Library Policeman”

This one downright freaked me out. It’s in the same collection as “The Langoliers.” My friend Maria let me borrow the collection just so I could read this novella. It is about a man who never returned his library books. Because of this, the library policemen are sent to retrieve the books and terrorize him.

#3 – “Apt Pupil”

This story is about a young boy who is the example of a perfect son. He goes to help an old man and uncovers the man’s not-so-glorious past. They enter into a relationship that can only be described as freaky.

#2 – “Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption”

It was very hard to put these last two in an order, so I’m just going to plop them here and say they’re in “no particular order.” This is the novella on which the movie The Shawshank Redemption is based. I re-read it over the summer as part of a read-a-thon and it’s still fantastic.

#1 – “The Body”

This is the novella on which the movie Stand By Me is based. It stars a young Wil Wheaton, River Phoenix, Corey Feldman, and Jerry O’Connell as a group of friends who set out to find the body of a missing and presumed dead classmate. They are chased by bullies and other thugs who want to claim the reward for finding the body.

Have you read any of the novellas on my list? Let’s talk about them!

kacie

Find me on:

 

 

Leave a Reply

