Book Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

the rest of us just live hereTitle: The Rest of Us Just Live Here
Author: Patrick Ness
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy/Contemporary

To start this review, I want to tell you just how excited I was to read this book. If you remember, it made my list of “most anticipated books” several times here on my blog. I just loved the idea of it and thought it was fresh and new. I couldn’t wait to read it. In fact, I bought it for myself when I got hired as a teacher. TREAT YO SELF.

tomhaverford_glee

I wasn’t able to read it at first because I’ve been crazy busy teaching and preparing for school at all hours. My family went up to the mountains for a week at the beginning of November and I read it in about a day.

Here’s what I thought about The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness.

Premise: 5/5

I loved the premise of this novel. It’s what made me anticipate its release so much. It’s a YA Fantasy so there are definitely Chosen Ones…but it’s not what the book was about. Instead of following the Chosen Ones, it follows the regular guys in the background, the people who are just hoping that the latest disaster won’t affect their upcoming graduation.

Plot Development: 3/5

Unfortunately, the plot development didn’t live up to the fantastic premise. There were times that I was bored while reading. Sure, the characters are the regular guys in the background, but they did some pretty boring stuff. There were some great aspects to the plot, don’t get me wrong, but the majority was pretty unmemorable.

Characterization: 2/5

I couldn’t connect with the characters. I enjoyed the fact that the novel had a diverse cast of characters, but they felt forced. They were unique and open minded teenagers…to the point where it just wasn’t believable to me. They weren’t John-Green-Teenagers, spouting poetic epiphanies every other page, but they just weren’t believable.

Writing Style: 3/5

It took me too long to get into this novel. I think part of that has to do with the “titles” at the beginning of each chapter. Each chapter was headed by a few sentences about what the Chosen Ones, or “indie kids” were up to. These excited me at first, but when I realized that these titles were pretty much the only connection between our characters and the Chosen Ones, I was pretty disappointed. The other main aspect of writing that I wasn’t thrilled with was the narrator’s assumption that the world we are reading about is the norm. He was sarcastic about “indie kids” and their names and the disasters that happen to their town/world. I liked the concept of it being normal to everyone, just not the explanation of it to the reader.

Readability: 3/5

This is a Young Adult book, but I’m not sure how “young” of an adult the reader should be. If I were to split the “Young Adult” category into age 12 – 15 and age 15 – 18, I would recommend this book to the latter half. Even though I read this book in about a day, it was still a rough read for me. I had to force myself to keep reading through some of the really dry parts.

Total Score: 16/25, avg. 3.2/5

Overall, I was really underwhelmed by this book. I was really excited for the premise, but felt the book didn’t live up to it. This was my first Patrick Ness novel, but I haven’t been discouraged from reading his other works.

I give it 3 stars!

3 stars

Find me on:

Want to purchase a copy of The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness for yourself? Check it out on The Book Depository by clicking HERE.

See you soon!

kacie

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

  1. Ruh-roh,what a bummer when a book you’re SO excited to read falls far below expectations. I love the concept, too. Now that I think about it, writing a story about the “boring guys” seems pretty dangerous.

    I’m a teacher, too, by the way, and I totally get how crazy busy work can get, ESPECIALLY during the first three years.

    Kacie from Kacie’s Bookshelf: I read the first Chaos Walking book, The Knife of Never Letting Go, and loved it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

