Top 5 Wednesday #16 | Authors your discovered this year

Hello, everyone! I’m slowly starting to get into a routine at school, so I should be back to posting regularly within the next week or two.

For those of you that haven’t heard, I was just hired as a special education teacher in my local elementary school. School started two months ago, so I’m playing catch up! It’s really exhausting so far, but I’m having a blast. I work with third and fourth graders.

t5wfamily


As always, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. For a complete list of Wednesday-ers and topics, please visit the Goodreads group!


This week’s topic is all about authors that are not necessarily new…but new to me. This post will be really quick because I need to get to bed, but here are my top five authors that I discovered this year.

#5 – David Levithan

I first read David Levithan in his collaboration with John Green, Will Grayson, Will Grayson. I did not like it. I then read his newest, Another Day and loved it!

#4 – Sarah J. Maas

I’m new to the Throne of Glass craze. I haven’t read Queen of Shadows yet, but I enjoyed the first two books of the series. Wasn’t thrilled with the third book, but I like the series and Maas overall.

#3 – Leigh Bardugo

I’ve only read Shadow and Bone, but I flew through it! I enjoyed her writing immensely.

#2 – Andy Weir

I’m not sure if I’ve recovered after reading and loving The Martian. I really need to see the movie adaptation.

#1 – Ernest Cline

I read both of his published books and I enjoyed them! He is my favorite author of the year (so far).


There you have it folks. What authors do I need to check out? Give me some suggestions!

kacie

Find me on:

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday #16 | Authors your discovered this year

  1. I feel like Andy Weir is popping up on everyone’s lists, with good reason. Glad you liked The Martian so much. 😀 The movie adaption is pretty decent! I mean, there are a few events missing here and there due to time constraints, but I feel it was a rather strong representation of the novel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

