Book to Movie Comparisons | “If I Stay” by Gayle Forman

The book is always better than the movie, right? Every time I leave the theater after watching a film based on a book, I hear at least one person say, “The book was better.” I know I’m guilty of this, but is the book always better than the movie?

When I think about it, there are definitely some movies that I enjoyed more than the book for a variety of reasons. There are also movies that I believe did not do the book any justice.

I was recently watching a book-to-film adaptation and thought, “Why not write about this on the blog?”

Book To Movie

In February of this year, I read If I Stay by Gayle Forman over the span of a few hours. I inhaled the book and I could not put the book down, but I wasn’t all that impressed with it. I thought it was a good book, with a not-so-good ending.

Synopsis:

17-year old Mia Hall is the daughter of a drummer to quit his band to be a better father. Mia has played the cello ever since she was a little girl and absolutely loves music. She has a lot of decisions to make about her future, whether she will follow her musical dreams or stay with the rocker love of her life.  On a snow day, Mia and her family take a drive that changes everything. Suddenly, there is only one decision Mia needs to make and it is the most important.

I thought the concept of the book was very interesting and even thought the writing style hooked me. The only thing that I did not like was the ending (I’m not going to talk about that because spoilers!).

I watched the film adaptation the other night, seven months after reading the book. From what I can remember, the movie did an excellent job. It made me feel the same emotions toward the same characters. It held my interest, but I didn’t like the ending.

Verdict: which was better?

The book and the movie adaptation were about the same for me. I give them both 3 stars.

3 stars

Has anyone read this book or watched the movie? Let’s discuss in more detail below!

Thanks for reading and as always, I’ll see you soon!

kacie

Find me on:

Leave a Reply

