Top 5 Wednesday #14 | Favorite Title Fonts

HELLO, EVERYONE!

I have missed you. It’s been about a week since I’ve been here! I’ve checked my Reader a few times over the week since I’ve posted, but I haven’t really been present…but I am back.

I’ve moved out of my brother’s house and back home. My brother is doing so well. He’s much more mobile and independent. He’s even able to go camping with us this weekend! Thank you for all of your kind thoughts.

It’s Wednesday today and you know what that means!

t5wfamily


As always, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. For a complete list of Wednesday-ers and topics, please visit the Goodreads group!


Today’s topic is “Title Fonts on Covers.” I honestly didn’t know I had an opinion about this until I started looking at my bookshelf. I felt the same way about the “Chapter Titles” topic!

I like when book covers stand out to me, whether it be their color scheme, title, or font. I know I’m not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but if the cover looks boring, what does that say about the book?

Here are my favorites:

#5 – Armada by Ernest Cline

armada

I just got this book and am excited to read it. I think the cover looks interesting and a large part of that is its title font. The popular font that has slanted capital A’s can get a little overdone, but I like how it’s mirrored on this cover.

#4 – Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

June_sandb

I like the fluidity of this font, but would like it more if it had more of a Russian feel to it. I saw a picture of the ARC cover and I liked it a lot better!

sandbarc

I love the use of Cyrillic letters here! The A looks like Д, W like Щ, N like И, and E like (a backwards) З! I wish she kept this font! I also would LOVE to own this ARC.

#3 – Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

everythingeverything

I love the use of watercolor and negative space for this title font. This cover is gorgeous!

#2 – Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk

haunted

This book is one of my favorites. It’s a collection of interconnected short stories of the creepy variety. The font is appropriate for a creepy book, don’t you think? Bonus points to the cover for being GLOW IN THE DARK.

haunted2

#1 – Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

doctor sleep

This cover is appropriately creepy for a sequel to The Shining! I love the use of smoke for this font. It draws the eye away from the creepy face in the background, just so it can jump out at you when you notice it.


That’s it for me this week. I hope to be back to a more usual blogging schedule now that I am home. I am going camping this weekend, but I plan on scheduling a few pre-written posts. Oh, I have missed blogging.

What are you favorite book title fonts?

See you soon!

Find me on:

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #14 | Favorite Title Fonts

Leave a Reply

