Top 5 Wednesday #12 | Things about blogging

Honestly, this topic could not have come at a better time. I’m feeling extra thankful for the things that I have and am able to do, and this topic allows me to closely examine all the reasons why blogging makes me happy.

I’ll tell you why I’m feeling extra thankful lately. On Sunday morning, my oldest brother was in a motorcycle accident. He’s going to be okay, but he’s got a lot of broken bones and it’s going to be a long recovery. I’m actually writing this post from his house because I’ve moved in for the time being to help out around the house and to help take care of the dog. It really makes you think just how much your life can change in an instant. He’s lucky, and we are too, that he’s alive.

Now that the personal stuff is out of the way, it’s time for Top 5 Wednesday.

t5wfamily


As always, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. For a complete list of Wednesday-ers and topics, please visit the Goodreads group!


This week’s topic is “Favorite things about blogging” (or whatever applies to the community in which I participate). Easy enough. Let’s get started.

#5 – Reading motivation

Focusing a blog on books has definitely given me more motivation to read. It’s also given me more motivation to read outside of my comfort zone. I’ve now read some books that I’m sure I wouldn’t have picked up before and I liked them! I’m broadening my reading horizons.

#4 – I’ve made my hobby into a productive one

I know a lot of people who do not think that reading is productive. I am not one of them and it’s awful when someone accuses me of reading too much when I should be doing other things. Sometimes, reading is all I have on the agenda. Live with it. But now that I’m blogging, I’ve entered and won giveaways and I’m getting copies of books sent to me for review. I’m earning more than self-satisfaction from reading and I love it.

#3 – A sense of accomplishment

This ties into number four, but I thought that it deserved its own space. I feel much more accomplished after finishing a book if I’ve shared my opinions with the world. I’ve experienced less ‘book hangover’ as a result.

#2 – Finding new books to read!

A lot of what I’ve read over the summer since starting this blog has been found on either BookTube or through other blogs. I had never heard of Throne of Glass or The Lunar Chronicles before this summer. My TBR has grown significantly since I’ve entered the booknerd world.

#1 – Other book lovers

That’s right. My favorite thing about blogging is all of you. The whole reason I started looking into BookTube videos and reading book blogs was because I didn’t have anyone at home with whom to discuss books. I went looking for a community and boy did I find it. I love talking with other book bloggers in my own comment section or in theirs. You all are amazing.


I really needed this topic because I needed to think about these happy things.

I don’t know when I’ll see you next because things have obviously gotten a little hectic in my life.

Have a great Wednesday!

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository and help me out!

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #12 | Things about blogging

Leave a Reply

