Book Review | Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

rpoTitle: Ready Player One
Author: Ernest Cline
Genre: Adult Fiction/Science Fiction

Honestly, I have no idea why it took me so long to ready Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I also do not understand why I hadn’t heard of it before I started paying attention to book blogs and YouTube channels. With such a unique premise and being filled with fast-paced action, this book should have been everywhere. Maybe it was, but somehow I missed it.

I’m glad I found it.

Ready Player One takes place in the year 2044 and most people spend most of their time in a virtual reality world called the OASIS. The OASIS was first introduced as a new type of video game, but quickly caught fire and was soon being used by nearly everyone for almost anything, especially escaping the harsh reality of their lives.. It has its own public school system, sections that replicate real-world places and movies, and best of all:  it’s FREE.

When the creator of the OASIS announces a puzzling contest within the OASIS promising one winner fame and fortune, the entire world races to solve it and claim its prize. Years later, the competition has died down, many believing it to be impossible. Wade, an OASIS public school student, figures out the first piece of the puzzle, reigniting the world’s passion with the contest, putting his life, in the game and outside of it, in danger.

Premise: 5/5

I absolutely loved the basic premise of this book. It was easy to believe that most of the world was obsessed with an alternate reality instead of dealing with real-world problems. In that sense, it made me think of Wall-E…but before the human race leaves the planet.

The creator of the OASIS grew up in the 1980s and was particularly obsessive over 80s culture. This caused the people of the 2040s to also become obsessive over the 80s, ultimately bringing it back. Naturally, the book is filled with references to video games, movies, music, and other areas of popular culture of the decade. I personally love this decade of popular culture, so this was right up my alley.

Plot Development: 5/5

The plot was very fast-paced, but it didn’t feel rushed. The reader is immediately informed that the protagonist, Wade, has made significant advances in the contest. Wade explains the background information necessary for the reader to understand, and then continues his quest for the prize. The development was then evenly paced throughout the book. Cline writes in such a way that the reader feels like they are right there with Wade, solving the puzzles.

Characterization: 4/5

We meet many characters on Wade’s journey, mostly other competitors. Some are good guys and some are bad guys. It’s very easy to tell who is on which side, leaving very little mystery. I only wish there were some characters somewhere in the middle of this divide. The characters’ actions seemed very realistic. It actually caused me to want to yell at them because they weren’t behaving like I’d expected them to because I’m used to reading unrealistic characters!

Writing Style: 5/5

I love the way that Cline writes. He sucked me into the plot and kept me there for hours on end. I had to remind myself to take breaks for eating. His writing flowed and was easy to understand.

Readability: 5/5

Ready Player One is an adult science fiction novel. It definitely caters to fans of science fiction. As I said before, there are a lot of references to the 1980s as well as video games. While I understood a lot of the references, not everyone will. However, not understanding the references will not ruin this book for you. Anything important to the plot is well explained so that the reader doesn’t struggle with keeping up.

Total Score: 24/25, avg. 4.8/5

This was one of my favorite reads of the entire year and I’m already planning on rereading it soon.

Ah, so good.

5 stars

See you later!

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository and help me out!

5 thoughts on “Book Review | Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Leave a Reply

