Top 5 Wednesday #11 | Fictional Cities

Hello everyone and happy September! Am I the only one getting excited for autumn? It’s my favorite season! The cool weather, the changing leaves, campfires, and going camping…I can’t wait.

Today is Wednesday so you know what that means!

t5wfamily


As always, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. For a complete list of Wednesday-ers and topics, please visit the Goodreads group!


This week, we are talking about our favorite Fictional Cities as presented in the books we read. Like some previous topics we’ve had, I had a lot of trouble coming up with five entries for this topic. I’m looking at my bookshelf and I can come up with a lot of fictional cities, but I don’t want to live in most of them. They tend to come from fantasy books and a lot of them have some pretty terrible stuff going on in either the city or the world in which it is located. Now, I understand that the topic isn’t necessarily “Fictional Cities In Which You Want To Live.” I get that, but for me at least, they go hand in hand. If I don’t want to live there, why would it be a favorite of mine? But that’s just me.

I’m also having a hard time not just selecting video game cities/universes instead. I would totally move to Hyrule from The Legend of Zelda or Traverse Town from Kingdom Hearts. Heck, I’d even move into the Ratchet and Clank universe. That place is cool.

BUT. With much effort, I’ve successfully come up with a list of places I consider to be my favorites.

#5 – Derry, Maine – Pretty much every Stephen King novel

Derry, Maine is the fictional setting for a ton of Stephen King novels. It’s most famous for being the home of the evil Pennywise the Clown from It. It also appears in Dreamcatcher11/22/63, and many others. In each appearance, there is some pretty evil stuff happening.

Wait a second, Kacie. Doesn’t that contradict what you were talking about before the countdown? If some pretty bad stuff is going down, why would you want to live there?

Because some pretty AMAZING stuff has happened there as well! A group of kids band together to fight evil and come back as adults to do the same. Another group of kids save a boy with Down Syndrome from bullies and become his life long friends, ultimately saving the world. A man goes back in time and enters Derry to save the lives of a family from an abusive husband and father.

Derry is the coolest.

#4 – King’s Landing, Westeros – A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

I just really want to live in Westeros. King’s Landing is a major city and a huge part of civilization in this world. It is the location of the evil royal court, but I think I’d be safest in King’s Landing than in any of the smaller cities. Just blend in, Kacie. Blend in.

#3 – Os Alta, Ravka – The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

I have only read the first book in the trilogy so I don’t know much about this city. From what I’ve seen of it, it is the capital of Ravka and the location where the Grisha train. How cool would it be to be a Grisha?

Once again, I’ve only read the first book so I don’t know if it’s actually not cool to be a Grisha or if this city is more evil than I know at this point. Please don’t spoil me!

#2 – The OASIS – Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Not exactly a city, but oh well. I want to go into this virtual reality! It would be so cool to escape the real world and adult responsibilities every once in a while. I would definitely want to be a teacher in the OASIS public school system! That would be so cool!

Hmm. Maybe I should look into teaching in a cyberschool…

#1 – Hogsmeade – Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

This comes as no surprise and I’ve already seen it is on a lot of people’s lists, but I definitely want to live in Hogsmeade!

When I first read the book series, only the first three had been published at the time. I was in elementary school and I pictured Hogsmeade as this tiny little place that existed for the purposes of Hogwarts students to visit and for the adults (teachers) to either live in or do adult things in…not a full fledged town.

As the series went on, we learned more about Hogsmeade and the shops it contains. Now, I really want to live there. I’d open a bookshop or library filled with fiction and nonfiction books written by magical folk as well as Muggles. There would be a flat above the shop in which I would live. Oh man, that would be the greatest.

Too bad it’s not real.

lesigh

There you have it, my fellow bookworms. Do any of our choices match up? Which fictional cities would you move to if you had the chance?

Thank you for reading and as always, I will see you soon!

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository and help me out!

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: My last post was never delivered to the WordPress Reader for subscribers, which makes me sad. Does this happen to any of you?

Check out my post about Read-A-Thons by clicking HERE.

STAY TUNED FOR: August Monthly Wrap-up and Book Haul!

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday #11 | Fictional Cities

Leave a Reply

