Weekend Reads | What do you think about Read-A-Thons?

Little League World Series update you didn’t ask for but are getting anyway: Pennsylvania has won the United States championship and will play Japan tomorrow for the world title! (For those of you who don’t know, the oldest kids on these baseball teams are no older than thirteen!) I am excited. GO PENNSYLVANIA!

weekend reads

I haven’t used this header in a pretty long while. There haven’t been any updates on the Goodreads group since the beginning of July, so we haven’t had any topics! As you can probably tell by reading the title, I’ve made up a topic of my own.

Question of the Week: What is your opinion on Read-a-Thons? Do you participate in any reading marathons or are you strictly opposed?

Kacie’s Answer: I know this is pretty darn obvious because you’ve seen my participation, but I love read-a-thons. I just like the idea of a bunch of people reading for enjoyment at the same time and working towards common goals. 

I especially love reading marathons when I’m feeling slump-ish. When I get on social media, I see an outpouring of booknerd love and it brings such a smile to my face. I immediately get in on the conversation and cheer other readers on and that makes me want to read more myself.

Some people are vehemently against reading marathons, and that’s okay. I can see how setting specific reading goals and challenges can be a little intimidating and also like you’re being forced to read. The reason I love them so much is because I personally don’t feel forced to read. I am a firm believer that no one should consider reading to be a arduous chore. Read because you love to read!

(I feel the need to make a disclaimer because I am a teacher. Read your required reading for school. If you’re supposed to read something, it’s for a reason!)

What do you, oh readers of my blog, think about read-a-thons? Let’s talk about it.

Now, for what I’m reading this weekend.

Weekend Reads!

I’ve got Supernatural re-runs playing in the background and I’m currently reading Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. This is one of my favorite books of the series and I’m reading it for the #BackToHogwarts15 read-along. The goal is to finish the series before it’s time to return to Hogwarts.

I’m currently getting it done with the help of cuddles from this guy.

I’m dogsitting for my brother this weekend! This is Xander and he’s my buddy.

I’m going to get back to reading, so I will see you soon!

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository and help me out!

One thought on “Weekend Reads | What do you think about Read-A-Thons?

Leave a Reply

