Top 5 Wednesday #10 | I wish we had more books!

Hello everyone!

I planned on writing this post earlier today, but I got sucked into watching the Little League World Series game on television! A team from my state is in the finals! We won tonight and will play again Saturday in the U.S. Championships. If we win there, we play an international team for the World Series title. Go Pennsylvania!
castiel_partyhard

As you know, it is Wednesday. Wednesday is one of my favorite days of the week. Here’s why:

  • The week is almost over
  • Our farm market receives its milk shipment on Wednesdays and we’ve been out of milk for days.
  • TOP FIVE WEDNESDAY!

t5wfamily


As always, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. For a complete list of Wednesday-ers and topics, please visit the Goodreads group!


This week, our topic is “Book Series You Wish Had More Books.” I’ve been thinking about this all day and I came to realize that I haven’t finished very many book series. I’ve read two or three of the series, I caught up on the series but more books are planned, or I finished the series and do not want any more books.

Yes, even Harry Potter. I don’t want there to be a chance of ruining it by taking it too far. I’m looking at you, epilogue.

Then I thought, “But it’s Top 5 Wednesday! I have to participate in Top 5 Wednesday!

misfits_blinks

Well, folks. I’ve come up with a solution.

Top 5 Children’s Book Series That I Wish Had More Books

That’s right, everyone. Children’s books. This week, I finally received my official credentials to be an elementary teacher in the state of Pennsylvania! Woohoo! To celebrate, I’m talking about my favorite children’s book series. Some of the series I am going to talk about are quite extensive and have a ton of books. Some only have a few (of which I am aware). Regardless, I would love to see more of them and would absolutely have them in my classroom library.

I’m going to kick things off with a series that has quite a few books on its list.

#5 – How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight? by Jane Yolen (Illustrated by Mark Teague)

dinosaursI am counting more than twenty books on this list, but I don’t care. I love ’em. The How Do Dinosaurs… series talk about a lot of stuff that’s going on in kids’ lives like learning to read or cleaning your room. Children can read these stories (or parents can read them aloud) and think, “Well, my mom says I have to clean my room. I hate cleaning my room. I wonder how a dinosaur would clean their room…”

These books are not only fun, but have won multiple children’s literary awards.

Bonus Book: Jane Yolen has also authored one of my favorite Young Adult books, Briar Rose, a Sleeping Beauty retelling with heavy Holocaust themes. I had to get my mom to sign a permission slip in 7th grade for me to be able to read this one.

#4 – The Knufflebunny series by Mo Willems

knuffleGood grief, I will take any and all Mo Willems children’s books. From the Knufflebunny books to the Pigeon series to Elephant and Piggie, there is just something for everybody.

There are currently three Knufflebunny books. I was a teenager when the first book was released, so this was not a childhood love. I discovered this series during a children’s literature class at my university and fell in love with the books and the author. The Knufflebunny artwork combines illustrations with photographs, which is really cool.

These books have won a multitude of awards.

This past weekend, I was visiting a former supervisor of mine and his children (who I’ve babysat before) sat me down to read me some Mo Willems books. They’re great!

#3 – Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type by Doreen Cronin (Illustrated by Betsy Lewin)

clickclackmooI own Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type and Giggle, Giggle, Quack. These books are just downright hilarious. The first book is about a bunch of cows who start typing notes to their farmer on a typewriter. They start asking for pizza and movie nights.

In Giggle, Giggle, Quack, there is a duck who is writing notes of the same nature to a man who’s watching over the farm.

Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type has won many awards, including the Caldecott Honor.

Bonus Books: Doreen Cronin also wrote Diary of a Worm and Diary of a Spider, another fantastic children’s series.

#2 – The Stinky Cheese Man: And Other Fairly Stupid Tales by John Scieszka (Illustrated by Lane Smith)

stinkycheeseI love a good fractured fairy tale, or a fairy tale retelling with one or more elements changed. This book is full of fractured fairy tales and was one of my favorite books as a kid. This author and illustrator also teamed up for The True Story of the 3 Little PigsIt’s the classic tale of the Three Little Pigs, but told from the Wolf’s perspective, who is completely innocent.

Scieszka and Smith are the masters of fractured fairy tales.

I want more of them.

The Stinky Cheese Man was published in 1992 and has since won many awards. It will always have a place in my classroom library.

#1 – Skippyjon Jones by Judy Schachner 

skippyOh, the love I have for this book series.

Skippyjon Jones is a Siamese Cat. Skippyjon Jones doesn’t think he’s a Siamese Cat. He feels like he fits in better with Chihuahuas. In every adventure, he goes into his closet to play pretend, ultimately hanging out with a group of make believe chihuahuas called the Los Chimichangos. Each book has a theme such as space, dinosaurs, and even mummies.

What’s really cool about these books is that they incorporate Spanish into the dialogue. It also tends to incorporate Spanglish (a mixture of Spanish and English) as well, making it a really fun book to read aloud to children.

Look how much I love this book series, guys.

I have my own Skippyjon Jones!

A post shared by Kacie (@kaciesbookshelf) on

It might be a problem.


I love children’s books and pick them up whenever I can.

What are you favorite books from your childhood? Let me know in the comments! I need more books to fill my children’s shelf!

Thanks for reading and as always, I will see you soon!

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository and help me out!

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #10 | I wish we had more books!

Leave a Reply

