Tuesday Talks | First or Third Person?

I’m baaaaaaaaaaaaaaack.

Does anyone even get this references?
Does anyone even get this reference?

Hello everyone! I’ve missed you.

As I mentioned in my last post, I spent the weekend visiting friends at my alma mater. This means that I slept on my best friend’s couch, stayed up entirely too late playing Super Smash Bros and Mario Kart, and stuffed my face with every bit of food I cannot find at home.

I’m exhausted.

tennant_tired

To welcome myself back to my own blog, I’m bringing you another edition of Tuesday Talks. It’s been almost a month since I’ve done a Tuesday Talks topic, but that’s the beauty of owning a blog. I can pick and choose the content!

Tuesday Talks


Tuesday Talks is a Goodreads group created by Janie and Janelle. Each week, we discuss a bookish topic on our blogs or YouTube channels. Join in the discussion here.


This week, we are talking about points of view and our preferences when reading. This is going to be a pretty short post because here it is, plain and simple.

Question: First or Third Person? Which do you prefer?

Answer: I have no preference as long as it doesn’t detract from the plot or the author’s writing itself.

That was easy.

It could be like A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin and stay in third person, switching to another character each chapter. It could be in first person like To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. It could also be in third person, such as the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. Heck, it could even switch points of view like in Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut. All of these books are favorites of mine and have different types of point of view.

What about you? Do you have a preference?

I’ll see you tomorrow for Top 5 Wednesday!

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository, who will send me a small commission so that I can buy more books!


5 thoughts on “Tuesday Talks | First or Third Person?

  1. I think for some books, one is better than the other. For example, I feel in contemporary, first person is better to express the emotions of the protagonist. But in high fantasy, third is better to express the character of everyone in it 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

