A Quick Life Update and Some Tropes I Hate

Hey friends!

You may have noticed that I did not post a Top 5 Wednesday post yesterday or that I’ve been suspiciously absent since Friday.

It’s been a busy week for me and I’m ending it by visiting friends at the university I graduated from in May! Don’t you worry; I’ll be back next week.

On Wednesday, a multitude of bloggers and booktubers were talking about the tropes that they don’t like seeing in books! (As soon as I’m finished writing this post, I’ll be around to read everyone’s posts!)

t5wfamily

Here are mine. Not on a Wednesday. But a Thursday. Deal with it:

#5: Disappearing Parents

I don’t know about you guys, but it annoys me when teenagers are completely in charge of their lives. They’re running all over the place doing whatever they want. Where are your parents? Or, worse, the parents are completely okay with whatever their teenager is doing. “Oh, you’re spending the night at your boyfriend’s house while his parents aren’t home and you didn’t ask me first but figured you’d mention it to me? Okay. Sounds good. You do you.”

No.

#4: Love Triangles

I don’t need to say too much about this one. Some of them are done well and some of them aren’t. Love triangles that particularly annoy me include acts of infidelity. The one where one party can’t make up their darn mind about who they want to be with and secretly string both of them along.

But really, I’m just tired of seeing love triangles in general.

#3: “I’m not pretty and I’m not like the other girls but I am still a badass and nobody will ever love me.”

You know, the girl next door that really is an awesome person but is so incredibly insecure that she’ll repel any chance of happiness through the means of which she is unsure.

“Oh, he’ll never like me!” Actually, he does. You’re too busy having an inner emotional breakdown to notice that you might be wrong about how others perceive you.

#2: Protagonist keeping secrets from the reader

This is what bothered me about Heir of Fire. If you and I are not friends on Goodreads, I gave it a two-star. I did not like it and this was a big reason. Don’t worry; I won’t spoil you.

Let’s just say that Celaena is still keeping some things secret from everyone, including the reader. The reason I don’t like this is because when the secrets are finally revealed, it always seems too convenient, like the author didn’t actually plan for this to happen until it happened.

But that could just be me.

#1: Insta-Love

Without reading anyone else’s posts yet, I am betting that this is numero uno on many lists. If two characters meet and then are suddenly saying “I love you” and practically sacrificing themselves to save one another, my eyes are very close to rolling right out of their sockets.

They’re not in love. They’re infatuated or full of lust. Not love.


These are my most hated tropes! Now, I’m off to see if yours and mine match!

I’ll see you next week.

kacie

Find me on:

3 thoughts on “A Quick Life Update and Some Tropes I Hate

  1. Oh, good lord, I HATE the Insta-love issue and I’ve seen it recently in way too many books that I read. Now, mind you, I do read more than my fair share of TEOTWAWKI books, and so I guess you might be more inclined to fall hard and fast for someone then, but COME ON. /grumble

    I just recently reviewed a book where the brother ‘fell in love’ with someone they met up with, and they hadn’t spent more than a few hours together. Give me a break. Call it lust, call it obsessed near-instantaneous affection, but do NOT call it love!

    (I agree with all the rest, too, but Insta-love hit an insta-sore point with me!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

