TAG | Reading Habits

Happy Friday everyone! I am so glad it’s the weekend because as usual, I’ll be heading up into the mountains later today.

As today is Tag Friday on my blog, I’ll be completing “The Reading Habits Tag.”

Reading Habits

I was tagged by the ever so lovely Erika in Bookventureland. Thanks for the tag!

#1: Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Yes and no — I prefer to read in my bedroom, either in my chair or on my bed. I like being in my room because I have a lamp so that I read without all the lights being on.  I can also light my candles there and put my radio on low. I don’t have to read in this space, though. I can read pretty much anywhere as long as I’m not overly distracted.

#2: Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Both. I’ve been known to use a random piece of paper or an old index card, but I prefer to use bookmarks. I have a set of laminated Star Wars themed bookmarks that I absolutely adore.

Like this one.

#3: Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/certain amount of pages?

I prefer to stop reading at the end of a chapter. If I stop reading somewhere in the middle, I can never remember where I stopped on the page.

#4: Do you eat or drink while reading?

I’ve never really thought about this before. I almost always have something to drink next to me while reading. I also occasionally eat snacks I can eat with one hand or that are not too messy. I will not make a book messy with food. It’s one of my pet peeves about library books!

#5: Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

I have done both. I prefer to have some background noise while I’m reading. I keep the volume low enough that I can’t really pay attention to it, but loud enough that there is not silence.

#6: One book at a time or several at once?

It depends. If I am really into a book, then I focus on that book only until I finish. I usually have two or three books on my currently reading list at a time.

#7: Reading at home or everywhere?

I almost always have a book with me! I can read anywhere.

#8: Reading out loud or silently?

I read silently except for when I’m struggling to pay attention or to comprehend what I am reading. This doesn’t happen often, but if I can’t understand something, I’ll read it out loud, forcing myself to read it more slowly than if I read in my head.

#9: Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

NO. I cannot do that! I want to find out about stuff when I’m supposed to find out about stuff.

#10: Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

This is something that has never really bothered me. A broken spine is a sign of a well-loved book. The only time I don’t like the spine breaking is in one of those tall mass market paperbacks and if I don’t like the book. If I don’t like the book, it doesn’t deserve a broken spine.

#11: Do you write in your books?

I never write notes in my books because I never really have anything to say.


I’m not going to tag anyone specifically because I don’t know who hasn’t been tagged. If you’d like to do this tag, feel free to do so and let me know so I can check out your answers!

I’ll see you soon!

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository, who will send me a small commission so that I can buy more books!

2 thoughts on “TAG | Reading Habits

  1. Thank you for doing the tag!

    I have similar reasons as you as to why I’d rather stop after a chapter instead of in the middle of the page. The whole time I would be thinking “which sentence did I stop at?!!” HAHA

    And I love that Star Wars book tag. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I got the bookmark on a website that teachers use to share/sell materials. I have a whole bunch of superhero ones that I need to print out. I love bookmarks!

      I recently found out that if I don’t like the book, I often stop in between chapters. If I don’t care about the book, I really don’t care about where I stop!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

