Top 5 Wednesday #8 | Required Reading

Hello everyone! It’s Wednesday, which means it’s time for another installment of Top 5 Wednesday!

t5wfamily


As always, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. For a complete list of Wednesday-ers and topics, please visit the Goodreads group!


This week, we are talking about our favorite books we were required to read at some point during our education. I’ve been required to read a lot of books over the years. Usually, I cannot read a book that I’m required to read. I can’t stand forced reading! But fortunately for me, I loved a lot of the required books! That made this list really hard to narrow down, but I did my best.

Here we go.

#5 – Hatchet by Gary Paulsen

I read this novel when I was in sixth grade. It’s one of the first books that I remember reading for school.  Sure, we did a lot of reading during “reading class,” but those were usually excerpts in our textbook anthologies.

Hatchet is about a young boy named Brian who is the only survivor in a small plane crash. He is stranded and alone in the woods. This thirteen-year-old boy must do anything it takes to survive on his own.

After the entire sixth grade class finished the book, we watched the movie adaptation together. I reread this book for a college course about children’s literature and I still love the book as much as I did when I was twelve.

#4 – Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

I read this book when I was a junior in high school. I was in the most advanced English class and we had a required reading list of about 5 books per quarter. I don’t remember a lot about this book, but I remember being blown away by it. I need to reread it soon!

#3 – East of Eden by John Steinbeck

This is another book that I don’t remember much about other than my loving it. I read this during my sophomore year of high school for English class. We were to read one or two assigned chapters a night, but I couldn’t do it. I devoured this book and pretended that I didn’t go ahead of the class. I need to reread this one soon, too.

#2 – The Jungle by Upton Sinclair

This book was required by my high school senior English teacher to be read during the summer. I was also required to read The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne and Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. I did not like them so I was worried about The Jungle. I shouldn’t have worried because I loved this book! This book shed some light on the horrid conditions in factories in the meatpacking industry. It led to regulations that helped the workers and the consumers’ safety.

#1 – To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee 

I first read this when I was a junior in high school. The reason I read it was because a lower level English class of sophomores was assigned this book. My classmates and I were assigned buddies from that class and we read the book together. I’d always wanted to be a teacher and this experience just solidified it. This is one of my favorite books of all time.


Were you required to read any of these books? Which required books did you hate reading? Let me know in the comment section below! I’ll see you soon.

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository, who will send me a small commission so that I can buy more books!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #8 | Required Reading

  1. I’ve never read ‘Hatchet’ in school or ever. My sister, who usually hates reading, read this in grade school and still loves it to this day. I’ll have to give it a go!

    Like

Leave a Reply

