TAG | The Summer Reader Book Tag

Hello, readers!

Summer as we know it is drawing to a close. While this makes me incredibly sad, I am still excited for autumn to arrive. I love the cool days, the brightly colored leaves, and sitting around the campfire.

But for now, it’s still summer and to celebrate that, I will be completing The Summer Reader Book Tag. I was tagged by Catia, the Girl Who Read Too Much. Thanks for the tag!

summereader

I normally complete tags on Fridays, but I’ve been a little absent. Here’s to make up for that absence!

#1: Lemonade – A book that started off bitter, but got better

lemonadeThrone of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I had a really hard time getting into this book and series. The first book started off as a slow read for me and I didn’t like the main character’s focus on pretty clothes and boys. Once the plot started to thicken, however, I was hooked.

Unfortunately, this seems to be the case for each of the books. I end up liking them, but it’s hard for me to get hooked on the story.

#2: Golden Sun – A book that made you smile beyond compare

sunEverything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

I’ve talked about this book a lot. It’s a really cute contemporary read. I devoured this book and was grinning through most of the novel.

Read my review HERE.

#3: Tropical Flowers – A book set in a foreign country

flowersWatermelon by Marian Keyes

I haven’t read this book in years, but it is a cute and fluffy read that is mostly set in Dublin, Ireland. This novel is about a young woman who has a baby and is left by her husband on the same day. Feeling completely deserted and overwhelmed by being a new mother, she returns to Ireland to be with her family and to grieve the destruction of her marriage. She reconnects with people from her past, including James, who wants to work his way back into her life.

#4: Tree Shade – A book in which a mysterious or shady character is introduced

tree shadeBlack by Ted Dekker

I’ve talked about this book quite a bit as well. It’s got a Good vs. Evil theme, so there is obviously a mysterious or shady character introduced. Our main character meets and interacts with Good and Evil characters, but must decide who is telling him the truth.

#5: Beach Sand – A book that was grainy and the plot barely developed

beach sandWill Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

I’ve liked every book I’ve read by these two authors except for this one. I thought it was boring and when I finished, I found myself asking, “That’s it?” I didn’t feel like there was much of a plot at all.

#6: Green Grass – A character(s) that was full of life, making you smile

Green_GrassA from Another Day by David Levithan

I really need to read Every Day, the book with the original story. I only read its companion, Rhiannon’s point of view. I loved the idea of A and would love to read the book from A’s perspective. I loved that A never gave up and always found a way to make the best of the situation they were dealt.

#7: Watermelon – A book with juicy secrets

watermelonDark Places by Gillian Flynn

This book is full of juicy secrets. Libby Day was seven years old when her family was murdered presumably by her own brother. But did he really do it? Thirty years later, Libby is in need of money. A club devoted to researching the murders needs answers and only Libby can get them.

Oh, it was so good.

#8: Sunhat – A book with a vast, big universe or setting

sunhatBlack by Ted Dekker

Yep, there it is again. This book is set in two worlds:  our own and a fantastical land far in the future. The main character constantly travels back and forth between the two. Every time he falls asleep in one world, he wakes in the other. He can’t figure out which one is real as everything that happens in both seems very real to him.

#9: BBQ – A book in which a character was portrayed as a hunk

bbqThe Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

Chaol, Dorian, Rowan. Each one of these characters is described as attractive in their own ways.

Apparently, all the hunks are in this universe. I need to move there.

#10: Summer Fun – Pass the tag on

This tag has been floating around all summer and I’m not sure who hasn’t been tagged. So, if you haven’t been tagged, I officially tag you!


That’s it for me today. I’ve apparently injured my back without doing anything to injure my back. The doctor took some x-rays and gave me some medicine, so I’m going to go rest up. I may or may not see you before this week’s Top 5 Wednesday. But as always, I will see you soon!

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository, who will send me a small commission so that I can buy more books!


IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Check out my July Wrap-Up post by clicking HERE!

3 thoughts on “TAG | The Summer Reader Book Tag

Leave a Reply

