Top 5 Wednesday #7 | Favorite Maps

Hello everyone! How is your BookTube-A-Thon coming along? Mine is just dandy. I didn’t do a whole lot yesterday other than work outside on the yard with my father. No reading, no video challenges, no Instagram challenges. That’s alright. I’ll update you when I do.

Today is Wednesday and I can’t believe it’s already the middle of the week. It’s also time for our weekly bookish countdown.

t5wfamily


Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. For a complete list of Wednesday-ers and topics, please visit the Goodreads group!


Some of my favorite books are set in a world different than my own. I love being transported into another universe by a book and it always amazes me when a book is able to do just that. For this to happen, the world needs to be well developed. It needs a history or else it won’t feel like a real place.

Sometimes, it needs a map. I like to know where in the world characters are located. If the main characters are on a quest to a certain place, I want to see the route they are taking! I want to get an idea of how treacherous the journey is going to be and then see how it affects the characters.

More than just a map, I want good maps. With each of the following book maps, I will explain what I like and what I dislike about each one. Here we go!

#5 – The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer

I haven’t yet read this book, but I like this map!

Each of the fairy tales that are going to be covered seem to have their own little section! I really need to read this book.

What I likeThe color coding of each area
What I don’t like: The lack of details within each area. Maybe I don’t need them? I don’t know, but I want them.

#4 – Progeny of Gods: Vertuem Destiny by Geoffrey Storm

I haven’t read this one yet either, but boy am I excited. It was written by the BookTuber Stiqula!

It’s so detailed and I can already tell that Geoffrey put a lot of time and effort into creating this world. This is a beautiful map.

What I like: The textures! You can tell the difference between mountains, forests, and water. This is a must for a good map.
What I don’t like: Some areas are really dark and it’s hard to read the small, scripted font. I know that the author wasn’t happy with the darkness of the map in this book compared to the ARC, and I don’t blame him. I’m hoping something changes for the next book!

#3 – Under the Dome by Stephen King

This is one of those unexpected maps. The book is set in a fictional town in the United States. Do we really need a map? For this novel, yes. Yes we do.

This novel follows the inhabitants of Chester’s Mill, Maine. One day, a large dome appears over their town, trapping everyone inside (or outside) of the town limits. Because the setting of the novel is just one small town, there is a lot of stuff going on. All of the townspeople move all over the area in which they are trapped. In some instances, it’s very important that the reader know exactly where people are when disaster strikes.

BONUS: This novel also contains a list of everyone who was trapped inside the town.

What I likeIt’s very detailed and looks almost like a Google Earth aerial shot.
What I don’t likeThe label boxes are a little boring. I wish the road labels like 117 and 119 were in a much more interesting box.

#2 – The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

I’ve only read the first book in the trilogy, Shadow and Bone, so I don’t know if the map later contains more detail about the areas above and below Ravka.

The map is dark, but it shows a lot of texture. I also love the illustrations of the cities and the creatures throughout the map. The drawings really show you just how scary the Unsea is!

What I likeThe world-building itself. It has Russian influences so the cities are named accordingly and done really well.
What I don’t like: There’s a lot of blank space. I want more detail!

#1 – A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin

Okay guys, tell me you saw this coming. I love this fantasy series so much!

This map has so much detail and I find myself flipping back to it frequently. Even though I’m really familiar with the world and the series, it still helps. I love it so much that a copy is on my bedroom wall.

gotmap
This one, specifically.

What I like: So much detail, including the main roads people travel.
What I don’t like: I wish the bodies of water were darker so it’s easier to tell the difference between water and land.


This topic has made the map song from Dora the Explorer to run through my head for the past hour or so. Yay.

What’s your favorite book map? Also, let me know what you think about my using Instagram to share media in this post. Yay or nay?

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository, who will send me a small commission so that I can buy more books!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #7 | Favorite Maps

Leave a Reply

