#BookTubeAThon Reading Update | Day 1

Hello readers! How was your weekend? Mine was fantastic. We cooked our meals over a fire and went four-wheeling around the property. I didn’t get a lot of reading done, but I’m ready to remedy that situation.

75557-booktubeathon

That’s right, fellow book lovers. I’ve decided to join in the BookTube-A-Thon this week. It runs from August 3 – August 9 (in your timezone) and is one of the most participated in read-a-thons I’ve seen. There are seven reading challenges to complete, but what makes it special is that each day, the official BookTube-A-Thon channel announces video challenges. Participants then have the rest of the day to film and post a YouTube video that completes the challenge. The hosts choose their favorites and award these lucky winners with a book from The Book Depository!

Today’s video challenge was: Book Dominoes

I did not film a video entry for this challenge due to lack of books and space, but I hope to participate in future video challenges. If I do end up posting a video, I’ll post it here for you as well.

There are also Twitter sprints involved in this read-a-thon and daily Instagram challenges. Like the video counterpart, winners of the Instagram challenges win a book from The Book Depository.

Today’s Instagram challenge is:  Post a picture of a book surrounded by items related to that book.

Here’s my entry:

(The winner will be announced tonight, August 3, at 11:30 PM Eastern Standard Time if you’d like to enter as well!)

I am such a video game dork and I am loving Ready Player One.

castiel_understatement

Let’s talk about the reading challenges.

I’m not going all out with the reading challenges. I’m not even picking a TBR. I’ve got some stuff to do this week so I cannot devote the entire week to reading, so I’m just winging it. As I finish a book, I’ll pick another one that goes along with another challenge.

That being said, here are the challenges:

  1. Read a book with blue on the cover
  2. Read a book by an author who shares the same first letter of your last name
  3. Read someone else’s favorite book
  4. Read the last book you acquired
  5. Finish a book without letting go of it
  6. Read a book you really want to read
  7. Read seven books

Now, I am in no way expecting to complete all of these challenges. I’m relaxing this week. I’ll probably reread a favorite children’s picture book for challenge five (I’m a teacher; I have lots of picture books).

But guess what! I’ve already completed a challenge and am pretty darn close to finishing a second.

Last night, I started reading at midnight to kick things off! I started with We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, which has blue on the cover:

wewereliars

I finished it! It was…alright. I know this book was well loved on BookTube, but that’s all I knew about it. I gave it a 4-star rating at face value. I may analyze it more in review form and that rating could change.

This morning, I started reading Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. This will either satisfy challenge 3, 4, or 6. I have about 100 pages left and I really don’t want this book to end.

I don’t know what book I’m going to pick up next. I’m excited to read someone else’s favorite book, so here is the audience participation portion of the post (holy alliteration, batman!).

What’s your favorite book? Let me know in the comment section below!

If you are participating in BookTube-A-Thon, I wish you luck! It’s going to be a fun week.

As always, thank you for taking the time to read my posts. I super appreciate it. I will see you soon!

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository, who will send me a small commission so that I can buy more books!

5 thoughts on “#BookTubeAThon Reading Update | Day 1

  1. Good luck with Booktubeathon! I love your Ready Player One picture~ 😛 & my favourite book is probably A Traveller in Time by Alison Uttley, if you’re interested… 🙂

    I liked We Were Liars a lot, though I agree that it didn’t quite live up to all the hype surrounding it – and The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks (also by E. Lockhart) was much better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

