TAG | Mid-year Book Freak-out!

The year is half over, which means we are halfway to Christmas and even closer to Halloween and the summer is almost over. Can we just freeze time for a moment and let me catch up?

Really, though. Can we?
Really, though. Can we?

During the month of this blog’s existence, I noticed that I am really bad at keeping track of tags. I know that I’ve been tagged more, but I was away for the weekend during the tags and I can’t find them anymore. I’ve developed a better system for the future. I’ve also noticed that my “Reader” doesn’t want to display every single post and I don’t know why. Does anyone else have this problem?

On this tag Friday, I’m completing the Mid-Year Book Freak-out Tag! I was tagged by Jasmin from Bookcorners and I’m pretty sure I was tagged by someone else but I cannot find it. If you also tagged me, let me know and I’ll edit this and give your blog some credit!

Time to freak out about the fact that we’re in the second half of 2015 already.

"Ahhhhhhhh!" - Pleakley
“Ahhhhhhhh!” – Pleakley

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2015

The best book that I’ve read so far is Another Day by David Levithan. This is the companion novel to Every Day by the same author. Even though I have not read Every Day, I absolutely loved the companion. I desperately need to pick up a copy of the original story. Now that I know Rhiannon’s side, I want to know more about A!

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2015

I am going with Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas.  I liked this sequel a lot better than the first book. The first one focused too much on the romance and Celaena’s clothes and I didn’t feel like she was the badass that she is supposed to be. The second book brought a lot more depth to the characters and their backstories. I enjoyed this book quite a bit.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

I have two books for this challenge and they were both released on the same day:

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee is one of my favorite books and I’ve been excited ever since hearing this was going to be published. I need to wait for the price to go down or for this to become available in my library. As for Armada, I’m not really sure why I am as excited as I am about this book. I haven’t yet read Ready Player One (but I now own it!) so I don’t really know much about Ernest Cline’s writing. But the premise of Armada sounds very intriguing to me!

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

I’ve already talked about this because this seems to be a popular topic for the middle of the year, so I won’t say too much about it. I’m excited for The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness, a novel about the best friend of the hero. This book is set for release on August 27, 2015.

5. Biggest disappointment

If you’ve followed me from the beginning or have binge-read my posts, then this will be no shock to you. I hated The Maze Runner by James Dashner. I wasn’t expecting a lot because one of my school friends didn’t like it and talked about this a lot. To my surprise, I was still disappointed despite my low expectations. This book just didn’t do it for me.

6. Biggest surprise

I wasn’t so sure about this book. I read its summary on Goodreads and thought it might sound interesting, but I wasn’t intrigued enough to go out and get it. I remember standing in front of my library’s YA shelves and grabbed it on a whim. I was quite surprised with the result. This book is Cinder by Marissa Meyer. The idea of a cyborg Cinderella kinda threw me because I don’t read a lot of science fiction, but I figured I’d give it a whirl since it was a re-telling of a well-known fairy tale. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would!

7. Favorite new author – debut or new to you

I’ve been really getting into Gillian Flynn’s books. I read and loved Gone Girl and Dark Places. I recently bought Sharp Objects since my library doesn’t carry it and I’m excited to read it, but I’m waiting until I’m in a reading lull. If this book excites me as much as the other books did, it’ll pull me out of a slump!

8. Newest fictional crush

I honestly don’t know why this is because I’m not even that into these books, but I guess my newest fictional crush would be Chaol Westfall from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. I dunno. Maybe because I’m picturing Hugh Dancy in Ella Enchanted in Kingsguard clothing from Game of Thrones.

Yes, PLEASE.
Yes, PLEASE.

9. Newest favorite character

This one is a hard thing to choose. There isn’t one character that’s jumping out to me as a favorite. I’ve been reading a lot of new books and series (at least to me) and there are some that I really like but do not consider them favorites for some reason. However, I have made a decision on the “most favorite of my liked characters.” I’m going with Thomas Hunter from The Circle series by Ted Dekker. The reason I’m going with Thomas is because he has a lot to deal with his in story and and even though I’ve only read the first book, I really want to know what’s going to happen to him next.

10. Book that made you cry

No books have made me cry this year! There was one that made me feel a wide range of emotions, so I am deeming it “close enough.” This book was Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. As I’ve said about a million times lately, I like to think about the reasoning behind the things that people do. This book is about why a young girl committed suicide, something that is very hard to understand. I felt pretty much every emotion I have while reading this novel.

11. Book that made you happy

Black by Ted Dekker. This is the first book in The Circle series. It is about a man named Thomas Hunter who got into some pretty bad stuff while living in Denver, Colorado with his sister. As he’s running from the bad guys, he receives a head injury and loses consciousness. When he wakes up, he is in a completely different world filled with colorful woods and amazing talking creatures. Every time he falls asleep, he wakes up in the other world. Which world is real? Are they connected? And if they are, can Thomas use his discoveries in both to save the human population that’s about to be wiped out completely?

Doesn’t sound like a happy book, but it’s one of those Good vs. Evil books that just made me smile.

12. Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year

I didn’t see many, but I guess my favorite would be Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I liked how close to the book the movie adaptation was, but I didn’t really like some of the characters in the movie version. They delivered some lines directly out of the book, but the way they said them were so different than how I perceived them that it seemed off to me. I still liked the movie, though.

13. Favorite review you’ve written this year

I choose my review of Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. This review got the most feedback, even though the book hasn’t been released yet. I really enjoy discussing books with people so it’s always a treat when you faithful readers leave me comments!

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

Again, I’m going with Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I won this book in a giveaway and my goodness this cover is beautiful.

everythingeverything

It’s also really soft, which is a weird description for a book. The title lettering has texture and if I remember correctly (as my book is in another room) it has spot gloss so it’s not an entirely glossy cover. It’s so pretty!

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Absolutely, without a doubt, I need to read A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin. I’ve gotten about halfway through before, but my college coursework and student teaching got in the way. I’ve had this book since its release. I even pre-ordered it! I need to finish this book (since I’ve pretty much been spoiled to death anyway) before the next season of Game of Thrones. Also, there’s a rumor that the next book might come out before the next season so I need to be ready for that!


Phew, that ended up being quite a post! I think I’ll end it with another freak-out GIF.

omgomgomgomg_owl

This tag has been floating around and I don’t know who has been tagged and who hasn’t…so…I TAG YOU, READER OF THIS POST. Let me know if you end up doing this tag! I’d love to read your answers!

Feel free to leave me a comment. I’d love to talk to you!

As always, thank you for reading! I’ll see you later today with the second edition of The Friday Five.

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository, who will send me a small commission so that I can buy more books!

3 thoughts on “TAG | Mid-year Book Freak-out!

  1. I really need to read Another Day. I loved Every Day :). I also need to read Everything, Everything. Everyone is loving that book. I agree with you in some of your answers especially the new crush… Chaol Westfall is my new crush of 2015.

    Like

  2. I’m so excited for The Rest of Us Just Live here as well! When I first heard of Cinder, the synopsis threw me off too; something about cyborgs and sci-fi fairytale retellings sounded kind of strange to me. But now, The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favourite series! I have just started watching Hannibal a few days ago and I just love Hugh Dancy. I had a great time reading your post. (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

