The Friday Five #1 | Songs That Remind Me of Summer

Happy Friday!

As you can probably tell from my blog already, I love music almost as much as I love books. I’m one of those people that still buys physical CDs from my favorite artists. I love a wide variety of music from rock, to pop, to bluegrass. When I saw this weekly Friday meme, I knew I had to jump right in.

The Friday Five was created by Sara Crawford on YouTube. The idea is quite similar to Top 5 Wednesday in that each week we talk about specific topics, but this one is all about the music. This is actually only the second week of The Friday Five! Check out her video and the Tumblr for more information about the topics.

friday 5

This week, we are talking about songs that remind us of summer.

For the past several years, I’ve been a summer employee at the university I attended. For two years, I was on the orientation team to welcome new students to the school. The following year, I was behind-the-scenes at orientation. For both jobs, we listened to music a lot. Any time there were students in the auditorium waiting for the next item on the agenda, you bet we had a Pandora station playing. This happened all summer long. Naturally, all the songs that we heard on this station make me think of summer.

So, without further adieu, I give you the top five songs that remind me of summer.

#5 – Imagine Dragons – It’s Time

This was my jam during the summer of 2012. My mother is awesome when it comes to music tastes and she often texts me about new songs and bands that she thinks I’ll like. This song went viral in the fall of 2012, but I had been listening to it all summer thanks to my very excellent mother. It’s one of the first popular songs that I plucked out on the mandolin.

#4 – Carly Rae Jepsen – Call Me Maybe

This song was over-played during that same summer! It became the anthem of the orientation team.

#3 – Ball Park Music – It’s Nice to Be Alive

Another song I only know because of my mother. I listened to this song a lot while working on hall decorations for the following semester. (Fun fact:  I was an RA at my university!)

#2 – Led Zeppelin – Over the Hills and Far Away

This is actually my favorite song of all time, but it has a nice summery feel to it. I think it’s the guitar intro that starts that feeling and then the main riffs that really remind me of summer breaks during high school.

#1 – Icona Pop – I Love It

This song took over our team and my friend group the summer of 2013. I was lucky enough to see them live at school! It will always remind me of summer fun with my best friends.


That’s it for this week! Tune in next Friday for my top 5 songs that get me pumped up!

See you soon!

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository, who will send me a small commission so that I can buy more books!

One thought on “The Friday Five #1 | Songs That Remind Me of Summer

Leave a Reply

