Top 5 Wednesday #5 | Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Series

Hello, readers! Welcome back to Kacie’s Bookshelf and another edition of Top 5 Wednesday!


Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. For a complete list of Wednesday-ers and topics, please visit the Goodreads group!


Have you ever read a book or book series and wondered what the story would be like from another perspective? Maybe you want a whole new series revolving around a favorite supporting character, following their adventures rather than the hero of the original series. Well this week, we are talking about just that. Some side characters just really deserve their own books.

Here are my selections:

#5 – Miss Peregrine from Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I’ve only read the first book in this series, but I already want a prequel. I want an entire book about the loop…before Jacob and maybe even before his grandfather. I’d like a book filled with antics of the peculiar children. This probably stems from my desire to be a child forever. Adult-ing is hard.

#4 – The Capitol from The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

I want the trilogy retold from the perspective a typical Capitol citizen. These citizens were basically brainwashed by the government. I am reminded of a quote from the movie, The Truman Show: “We accept the reality of the world with which we’re presented.” What was it like to be a regular citizen living in The Capitol during the events of this trilogy?

#3 – Pennywise the Clown from It by Stephen King

Oh my gosh, can you even imagine? I can’t even think of what to say about this. It would be terrifying and amazing.

#2 – Hannibal Lecter from Red Dragon by Thomas Harris

Red Dragon is the first book in the Hannibal Lecter series, but it’s mostly about Will Graham, an FBI profiler who is hunting for serial killers.  Dr. Lecter, a psychologist, is consulted by Graham to help catch the killers.  Eventually, Graham cottons on to Lecter’s cannibalism and catches him. That story is mostly told through flashbacks. Even in the following books (except the prequel about Lecter’s childhood), Dr. Lecter is more a side character that everyone is hunting. It’s like calling the Harry Potter series “The Voldemort Series.” I want more Hannibal Lecter during the Red DragonSilence of the Lambs, and Hannibal eras.

#1 – Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Okay, okay. I have to include this series and I want to see the same story from another perspective. However, I do not want to see this story from Ron or Hermione’s point of view. Not even Neville’s.

I want to read this story from the perspective of a non-Muggle-born Hufflepuff, preferably one that is so far into the background that we don’t ever see them. Maybe we heard their name in the Sorting in the first book, but that’s it. A typical wizarding student from a typical wizarding family. Something tells me that it would be a great re-telling.


This list was actually quite difficult to come up with. I found myself wanting to know more about the villains or the nasty side of the books. I like to know why evil people do the things that they do.

I also realized that I haven’t read many book series or that I don’t want to read about the other characters.

What side character do you want to read more about?

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository, who will send me a small commission so that I can buy more books!

21 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #5 | Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Series

  1. That’s such an interesting idea for Harry Potter! I was considering including it in my list but from Hermione’s POV, but then thought against it because she’s so central.

    Charlotte @ Bookmarks and Blogging

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I couldn’t not pick a bunch of Harry Potter side characters to talk about in my T5W. I never thought about the one you suggested. That would be amazing!

    Like

  3. I think the Capitol was an interesting choice! It’d be such a change in perspective. I wouldn’t look at the characters the same again.

    Like

  4. I saw lot’s of side characters from the hunger games picked for T5W but you’re the only person (thus far) to have suggested a story from a capitol citizen’s point of view. That also made me think about how twisted the world that the capitol created is and how it would be to see things from a citizen’s perspective.

    Like

Leave a Reply

