ARC Review | Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

everythingeverythingTitle: Everything, Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Release Date: September 1, 2015

(Note: This is a spoiler-free review. The facts from the novel I use can be clearly read from the back cover summary of the book(s).)

 (Note: I was able to read this novel due to winning a third party giveaway of select titles from BookCon. I did not receive this book from the publisher and am in no way working with the publisher of this book. This review is my honest opinion.)

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon is a Young Adult Contemporary novel with a hint of romance.  It is about a girl named Madeline who has a rare disease called SCID.  Essentially, this means that Madeline does not have an immune system and almost anything can make her sick.  Because of her disease, Madeline has never left her house.  She knows only her mother, her nurse, and those she interacts with online for educational purposes.  Her house contains a state of the art filtering system so that Madeline is protected from contaminates. When a family moves into the empty house next door, Madeline sees a boy her age – A very cute boy named Olly. Suddenly, Madeline isn’t so comfortable with her situation.

Premise: 4/5

I liked the idea of this novel a lot. However, it reminded me of the movie, Bubble Boy, which is about a boy with the same illness as Madeline. There’s a love interest and the ill character must find a way to be with that person. So while the concept wasn’t completely original, it was still very different than what’s on the Young Adult Contemporary shelves at a bookstore.

Plot Development: 4/5

Without giving anything away, I want to say that I was happy with the way the plot was developed throughout the novel. There was a clear exposition, rising action, climax, falling action, and resolution. There were also a few surprises in there and it was more different than Bubble Boy than I was expecting! However, I did have some very small, and I mean very small, issues with believability. Some factors tested my ability to suspend disbelief, but not enough to bother me.

Characterization: 4/5

The characters were typical naïve teenagers and I really liked that. There are too many books where the teenage protagonists must have graduated college by the time I graduated high school because they are much too intelligent and wise to be teenagers. This book had none of that. Their flaws allowed the plot to advance and wasn’t forced.

Writing Style: 5/5

I found myself laughing a lot more during this book than I thought I would.  I love Madeline’s sense of humor and how it translates to the style of the drawings, e-mails, and vignettes that make up Madeline’s story. If an anecdote ended with a funny result, there was more than likely going to be a witty diagram to follow and reference it. I highly enjoyed the writing style of this novel.

Readability: 5/5

This novel was written for young adult readers and is appropriate for the intended audience. Instead of traditional narrative, the “chapters” are made up of e-mails, text messages, diagrams, letters, and anecdotes. The language used is not too difficult for young adult readers. This book does mention and briefly discuss sex, but not in a graphic nature. This book also contains themes of domestic abuse.

Total Score: 22/25, avg. 4.4/5

I give this novel four out of five stars. I highly enjoyed this novel and would recommend to readers in high school and in their twenties. I ended up delaying my dinner because I couldn’t stop reading this book. While it does have its flaws (because all books do), it sucked me in to the budding romance of Maddy and Olly.

4 stars

I almost wanted to give it bonus points because of the BEAUTIFUL cover. I love everything (everything) about the cover of this novel. Have any of you faithful readers gotten a chance to read Everything, Everything? Are you excited for this novel’s release? Let me know in the comment section below!

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository, who will send me a small commission so that I can buy more books!

10 thoughts on “ARC Review | Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. I also thought the book had issues with believability. I actually thought the ending was downright absurd though it was sweet. Overall I enjoyed the book for many of the reasons you have detailed wonderfully here. Great review!

    Like

  2. You got me even more excited to read this book!!!! I can’t wait. I just love love stories that are swoon worthy! Yes, the cover is absolutely beautiful. I’ve been hearing a lot about the movie, Bubble Boy. Is it a good movie??? 🙂

    Like

  3. Great review- I agree with what you said about believability- there were parts when that fell down a little bit. I think one of the main parts with that was how the nurse suspected for 18 years and didn’t do anything *and* she was never sick- it just left me going (?!?!?) But overall, a really cute story and I agree the writing style was lovely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

