TAG | Disney Villains

Book Tag

Hello, faithful readers!

It’s Tag Friday! As usual, I was not tagged to do this post, but I loved it so much I wanted to participate. I saw the tag on Rebecca from WhyMermaids’ YouTube channel. It was originally created by Chelsea Martin, also on YouTube. Check out both of their channels for some amazing book-related content!


This tag is all about the villains of Disney who are generally my favorite characters. I have not picked out my answers before typing this out and I’m excited to see how this one ends up.

Let’s do this.


Maleficent: A book or book series in which there is an overwhelming sense of evil/doom

MaleficentThe first book to come to mind is The Stand by Stephen King. This novel is a beast of a book, clocking in at 1,153 pages, set in an apocalyptic America. A deadly strain of virus was leaked by military personal and is the result of the destruction of society. There are some people that seem to be immune to the disease and join together to reform society as they know it. Unfortunately, there are powers working beyond their control. Good must triumph over evil, but can it?

It’s your basic Good vs. Evil trope, so naturally, there is a overwhelming sense of evil/doom. I mean, in the first pages, 99% of the world dies. That’s pretty overwhelming.


The Evil Queen (Snow White): A book or book series in which the villain tricks the hero

The_Evil_Queen_in_her_secret_lairIt’s a no-brainer on this one. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling. If you haven’t read this novel yet, do not read any of the italicized, quote text that is about to follow!

It’s the trick up Old Voldy’s sleeve. He makes Harry believe that people are in danger so that Harry and his friends will come running to the rescue. Instead, they’re the ones who need saving. It makes Harry re-think his instincts to be the hero and I think it was beautifully done.

Okay, you can continue reading now.


Cruella de Vil: A book or book series in which the villain brings about their own demise

cruellaFor this one, I’m choosing A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin. There are a lot of villains in this series. I mean, every character is another character’s enemy. I’m thinking of one person in particular here:  Cersei Lannister, you did this to yourself.

I’m not talking actual demise here, so I’m not spoiling anything. What I’m saying is that Cersei has done a lot of things and she really shouldn’t be surprised when the consequences come around to bite her.


Ursula: A book or book series that left you speechless

ursulaEverything, Everything by Nicola Yoon is about a girl is allergic to everything. She has SCID, a rare disease which essentially means that she does not have an immune system. Everything that she comes into contact with can make her sick. Her house is equipped with state of the art filtering systems and other medical equipment that allows her to live freely inside her home. She’s happy this way…until a boy moves in next door.

I’m not going to say much about this book because it hasn’t been released yet. This book was so different than anything I’ve read. It was funny, witty, heart wrenching, painful, happy…

It was everything, everything. I still don’t know what to say about it, but you can look forward to my spoiler free review, coming soon!


Captain Hook: A book or book series in which you just can’t take the villain seriously

captain hookThis one is pretty obvious for me as well. I’m going to go with Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. This book is about an orphan girl named Alina who lives in a Russian-inspired country called Ravka. She is a soldier in the army and when she and her company are attacked, Alina displays an ability that even she didn’t know she had. Now, she must not only learn to use her ability, but to make sure she only uses it for good and not evil.

I’ve only read the first book of the trilogy but right away, The Darkling is introduced as a villainous character. Once we meet him and get to know him a little better, I just cannot take him seriously.

He’s dark, mysterious, wears only black, and everyone’s afraid of him. He also seems to think he’s a gift to women. He’s got that “I only do the evil things I do for the good of the country and you will all thank me someday” attitude. Yuck.


Jafar: A book or book series in which the villain almost wins

JafarHands down, I’m going with the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. Voldemort almost wins in every book he shows up in. His plans are meticulously thought out and there’s always just one thing that ends up causing him to lose. One tiny little detail that he could not predict. Every time I thought he might have one up on Harry, things don’t go his way. Each time left me saying, “HA!” aloud while reading.

Old Voldy, you tried so hard and got so far, but in the end, it didn’t even matter.


Hades: A book or book series in which you can’t help but love the villain

Hades_AnimatedPennywise the Clown from It by Stephen King is one of my favorite literary villains of all time! He’s terrifying and he’s always there, assuming the form of your darkest fears. He’s a homeless man squatting under a porch yelling at you, he’s a voice in a sink drain when you’re home alone, he’s a disgusting bug inside your fortune cookie. But for everyone, he assumes the form of a carnival clown.

Creepy.


Scar: A book or book series with familial betrayal

Scar_lion_kingHis Dark Materials trilogy by Phillip Pullman. The story follows Lyra, a 10-year old orphaned girl who lives at Jordan College. When children start to go missing in the surrounding area, rumors start to circulate as to who is responsible.  After Lyra’s best playmate disappears, Lyra decides she must do something to help. In her journey, Lyra finds out there is a much bigger plan unfolding with lots of players.

There is so much back and forth in this series. We find out more about Lyra’s backstory and family, including the betrayals that led to Lyra’s life now. There are even more familial betrayals throughout Lyra’s journey. Lots of family problems in this one, for sure.


Gaston: A book or book series in which the villain makes a fool of themselves

gastonViserys from A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin.

Good grief Viserys, you’re dealing with one of the most powerful men in the world. You frequently talk about how powerful this man is, yet you treat him and his people like they are lesser than yourself.

You got what was coming to ya, buddy.


Hans: A book or book series with a villain you didn’t see coming

hansI’m not going to say much about this because I’m sure a few of you faithful readers haven’t read this novel yet, but I’m going with a character in The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. This is the first book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I haven’t read past the first book, but when I first read it, I found myself thinking nasty thoughts to a certain character than betrayed Percy.


I just love villains, especially Hades from Disney’s Hercules. He has quite the sense of humor and his voice acting is wonderful. He’s definitely my favorite Disney villain.

In the comment section below, tell me who your favorite Disney villain is and if you’ve read any of my selections.

I HEREBY TAG:

Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you soon!

kacie

Find me on:

Want to purchase any of the books that I’ve talked about? Use this link to buy books from the Book Depository, who will send me a small commission so that I can buy more books!

6 thoughts on “TAG | Disney Villains

Leave a Reply

