TAG | Book Buying

Hello, readers! Today, I’m going to complete a tag! I was not tagged by anyone, but I want to do more tags so you can learn more about me. That being said, if you like doing tag posts, feel free to tag me at any time! I don’t bite.

The Book Buying Tag was created by Megan Olivier. Check out her channel for more bookish videos!


1. Where do you buy your books from?

I mostly buy my books from Amazon. I live in the middle of nowhere. It takes a forty-five minute drive to the nearest bookstore. I’m rarely able to go to a bookstore. When we go out shopping, I’ve been buying my books at 2nd & Charles, a store that buys, sells, and trades books, games, movies, and more.

2. Do you ever pre-order books, and if so do you do it in-store or online?

I have pre-ordered books before. I pre-ordered Doctor Sleep by Stephen King and A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin. I pre-ordered both books online. Again, this was because I rarely have the opportunity to go to an actual bookseller.

3. On average, how many books do you buy a month?

Most of the time, I buy none. When I do get to buy books, I buy about two or three, depending on my TBR pile and my finances. I also tend to buy more eBooks than physical books because I can’t wait for the mail to come and I want my book instantly!

4. Do you use your local library?

Absolutely! I consider my library my second set of bookshelves. They’re there for the taking whenever I want them. When I’m done, I just put them back. I recently graduated college and am job-hunting, therefore BROKE. Libraries are free! Woohoo!

5. If so, how many books can you/do you borrow at a time?

I mostly grab three books at a time. I could take more, since it is a three-week rental and I usually read my three books in a week or two. The only reason I limit myself to three is to allow others to read the books that would be lying on my table while I’m not reading them. I’ve been on too many waiting lists to hoard library books.

6. What is your opinion on library books?

It’s obvious I love my library. Here’s what I don’t like about libraries:  disrespectful library patrons. I will never, ever dog-ear a page in a library book. This is my biggest book-related pet peeve. When I’m in the zone while reading a book, my blood boils when I go to turn a page and the corner just wants to fold. It distracts me and it makes me yell as if the responsible party is in the room with me. I’ve used receipts, post its, scraps of paper, envelopes, index cards, nearly anything as a bookmark. Return library books in the same condition you rented them.

7. How do you feel about charity shop/second hand books?

I love them! I love to read, but am unable to purchase many books. I am grateful that I can get them cheap and donate/sell books I don’t need in return. Readers helping readers.

8. Do you keep your read and TBR pile together/on the same book shelf or separate?

I only have one set of shelves and they’re packed. I generally keep a mental TBR list and use Goodreads to catalog what I’ve read and what I plan to read. My shelves are currently in alphabetical order by author’s last name.

9.  Do you plan to read all of the books that you own?

YES! Whatever I will not read will be donated to my library or sold to 2nd & Charles in order to buy a book I will read.

10. What do you do with books that you own, but feel you will never read/didn’t enjoy?

I will donate them to my library or sell them to 2nd & Charles so that I can buy a book on my wishlist!

These questions are getting repetitive…

11. Have you ever donated books?

I’ve donated boxes of books to my library on several occasions.

12. Have you ever been on a book buying ban?

I’m on a perpetual book buying ban. I’m broke!

13. Do you feel that you buy too many books?

My mother would say so. In fact, she has said so while helping me move home. I don’t think I have too many books. A lot of them were given to me, so I will have to say no. I do not buy too many books.


While it got a little repetitive, this was a fun one to do.

Now that you’ve learned more about me and my book habits, I want to learn about you! I hereby tag:

Check out their blogs! If you don’t want to do it, feel free to ignore it.


Have a tag for me? Let me know!

You can find me:

kacie

2 thoughts on “TAG | Book Buying

Leave a Reply

