Read-A-Thon Update #1 | #CramAThon Day 1

Whoa, guys. Just whoa.

I read a lot today for the first day of the #CramAThon read-a-thon. My parents went to a bluegrass festival today, so it was pretty easy. As a side note, I’m disappointed I couldn’t go to the festival. They were only going for one day and tickets cost $25…If there were more artists that I knew playing today, then maybe. Oh well. Next time.

The read-a-thon started last night as soon as the date changed to July 10th. I was super excited to get started…until about 11:15 pm when I started to feel groggy. I went to bed and woke up at about nine in the morning. I got started right away, diving into The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. I read for a couple hours and took a break for lunch. When I resumed reading, I didn’t stop until I finished the book.

Next, I picked up my hardcover edition of The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling. I haven’t read it since its release in 2008, so it felt like a new book to me. I read this book in a little over an hour. I stopped reading to make myself dinner.

Next, I figured I’d just bite the bullet and read my toughest choice of the read-a-thon, Oedipus Rex by Sophocles. Ugh, it was just as hard to read as I remembered. I flew through it, but if I hadn’t already known the plot, I wouldn’t have gotten anything out of it.

For my fourth book of the read-a-thon, I selected a graphic novel adaptation of Fahrenheit 451. I read about seventy pages before I decided to take a #CramAThon break.

That seems like a lot. Let me break it down for you:

Total Time Read Today: 8 hours, 37 minutes
Total Pages Read Today: 979

Challenges:

  • Read a children’s book – The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
  • Read a hardback book – The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling
  • Read 2 books in 24 hours – I read the above two titles today!
  • Read a book in verse – Oedipus Rex by Sophocles
  • Read a graphic novel
  • Read a novella
  • Read a total of 5 books

Four challenges down, three to go! I just need to finish the graphic novel and my novella by Sunday night. I have no worries about this!


Tomorrow (which starts in an hour and a half for me!) starts the #24in48 Readathon. I need to read for twenty-four hours of the forty-eight hours of the read-a-thon. Yikes. I read for almost nine hours today. I need to do that again, plus three more hours tomorrow if I want to be on track. I’ll probably start reading for that time tonight. Luckily, my parents are going to a wedding tomorrow so no one will be here again tomorrow to distract me!

Since I have no worries about completing the #CramAThon, I’m going to take a break from my #CramAThon TBR. I am about halfway through the ARC of Another Day by David Levithan and I really want to finish it in order to review it for you guys. So far, I’m digging it, so I want to get back to it! I also plan on reading a good chunk of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire tomorrow. Need me some Harry Potter.


Whew. Not bad for a first day of my first read-a-thon.

Are you participating in this weekend’s read-a-thon(s)? How are you doing? Let me know! We should stick together!

kacie

Find me on:

4 thoughts on “Read-A-Thon Update #1 | #CramAThon Day 1

  1. Wow that’s one hell of a lot of reading… Congrats 🙂 I’ve followed, and would be honoured to hear your thoughts on some of my works on my blog (mainly short stories, a bit of poetry, and got a novel in the works). Obviously after your cramathon, doubt you even have time to breather with all that reading 😉 Keep blogging and have a good day 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh wow that’s a lot, great job!! You’re awesome. Now, I’m eleven hours into day 2, and I’ve finished my graphic novel and The Tales of Beedle the Bard. Yesterday, I was at work but today I’m off, so I definitely hope I’ll get a lot more reading done today! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

