#Cramathon TBR and #BacktoHogwarts15 Read-Along

Hello, readers! Today I want to tell you about two reading events I am participating in this summer:  Summer #Cramathon and the Harry Potter Read-a-Long #BacktoHogwarts15! Click the titles of these two lovely events to learn more about them.


Harry Potter Read-a-Long #BacktoHogwarts15 – June 21 – September 1

It’s a summer of Harry Potter! The goal of this read-along is to read or re-read the Harry Potter series this summer. Easy enough, right?

When does it take place? June 21, 2015 – September 1, 2015. Essentially, it’s from the first day of summer until the first day of Hogwarts!

Where does it take place? Wherever you are and whatever social media you use. If you want to follow the updates of other readers, check out #BacktoHogwarts15 all over the place.

I started my re-read of Harry Potter earlier, before I knew about this read-along. I re-read the first book in December, the second book in May, and the third book at the beginning of June. I had already planned on re-reading the rest of the series, so I’ll just add September first as my deadline. Yay Harry Potter!


Summer #Cramathon – July 10 – July 13

The second event I am participating in is the Summer #Cramathon. It’s my first read-a-thon! I originally heard about this read-a-thon from Aya at Books Wide Open and it seemed right up my alley.

The idea of the #Cramathon is to cram in a bunch of smaller books in order to meet your Goodreads book challenge. I have no worries about completing my challenge, but since it’s a smaller read-a-thon, I figured it would be a perfect first read-a-thon for me!

The challenges are:

  1. Read a children’s book
  2. Read a hardback
  3. Read 2 books in 24 hours
  4. Read a graphic novel
  5. Read a book in verse
  6. Read a novella
  7. Read 5 books total

Here’s my TBR:

IMG_2732

  1. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan – This is a re-read for me and satisfies the “read a children’s book” challenge.
  2. The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling – Not only is this a children’s book, but it is also a hardback, satisfying the second challenge. Technically, I could have used this for both, but then I wouldn’t be reading 5 books!
  3. Fahrenheit 451: The Authorized Adaptation by Tim Hamilton – This graphic novel has been on my shelf forever, but I haven’t read it yet! Satisfies challenge #4.
  4. Oedipus Rex by Sophocles – I’m re-reading this one. It is a play written in verse and I haven’t read it since my junior year of high school…eight years ago. It’s also the only non-Shakespearean book written in verse that I own. Challenge #5
  5. Rita Hayworth and the Shawkshank Redemption by Stephen King – This is one of the novellas in the collection Different Seasons by Stephen King. I’ve been wanting a reason to re-read this favorite. Challenge #6

I plan on reading the books in the order I’ve just presented them. I know I can read either 1 & 2 or 2 & 3 in the span of 24 hours, which will satisfy challenge #3. If I complete the entire list, I’ve completed all 7 challenges. I think I can do it.


What read-a-thons or read-alongs are you participating in this summer?

kacie

Find me on:

4 thoughts on “#Cramathon TBR and #BacktoHogwarts15 Read-Along

Leave a Reply

