Monthly Favorites – June, 2015

Here’s a new style of post for me. It’s the beginning of July and while I haven’t been present in the blogosphere for very long, I’ve been lurking in the book community for some time now. I enjoy watching videos and reading blogs about favorites for each month. Topics have included make-up, games, phone apps, food, and of course, books.

At the beginning of each month, I plan on posting about my favorites from the previous month. That’s not a new concept. This is how I’m going to do it:

  • TV Show: A television show, or season of a show, that was released to Netflix during the selected month
  • Movie: A move that was released to Netflix during the selected month
  • Album:  An album that was released during the selected month
  • Book: My favorite read of the month, but not necessarily released during that month
  • Other: This category is very flexible. It could be a movie released to theaters, a new board or video game, or anything else that I loved that month. It may not appear at all.

Note: The movie and TV show categories will be based on American releases to Netflix…because I live in the U.S.

Get it? Got it? Good.

Monthly Favorites – June, 2015

TV Show:  Scandal (Season 4) – I showed up late to this party. Last summer, I was living alone in a studio apartment and working a student worker job with 50+ hours a week. The job forced me to be around a lot of people at all times and as an introvert, I needed to recharge as frequently as possible. I spent my weekends locked in my room with a book and/or my Netflix account. I binge-watched the first three seasons during one of these weekends. When the fall semester started, I kept up with season four, but when student teaching started in the spring, I fell out of touch. By that, I mean that I would fall asleep after watching Grey’s Anatomy so I’d miss Scandal. Oops.

If you’ve never watched this show, here’s a quick synopsis from IMDb:

A former White House Communications Director starts her own crisis management firm only to realize her clients are not the only ones with secrets.

Basically, bad things happen to the higher-ups in the U.S. government and Olivia fixes all the problems…and makes out with the President. It’s…scandalous.

I apologize for that awful pun.

Movie:  Employee of the Month (2006) – This movie is almost ten years old and that fact makes me feel old. This movie stars Dane Cook, Dax Shepard, and Jessica Simpson as employees in one of those buy-in-bulk style stores like Sam’s Club and Costco. The two male characters comically compete for the title of Employee of the Month and the prize:  the new female employee who is rumored to sleep with the winner.

It’s goofy. It’s dumb. It’s a Dane Cook comedy. If you want a mindless comedy that makes you smile, go for it.

Album:  Four Year Strong – Four Year Strong (June 2) – I’ve been a long time fan of this band. Four Year Strong is an American rock band that’s been active since the early 2000s. They are frequently described as pop-punk, with loud group vocals, strong guitar breakdowns, and synthesized melodies.  This self-titled album shows how much the band has grown over the years, dropping the computerized sound and getting back to the music.

This band makes me think of A Day to Remember…but less screamy. Give ’em a listen.

Book: Dark Places by Gillian Flynn – I seem to love all things Gillian Flynn. I loved Gone Girl and I’m excited to say that I recently picked up Sharp Objects. I can’t wait to dig into that one, but I want to talk about Dark Places. This book is about the survivor of a brutal family murder.  When she was seven years old, Libby witnessed the brutal murders of everyone in her family except her brother, who she testifies is the murderer. Twenty-five years later, fans of the murder want answers. Only Libby can get them.  This book goes back and forth between present day and key points of the day of that horrible tragedy. It’s not your usual Mystery/Thriller.

The suspense kept me reading and it was just so perfectly done. I was constantly guessing the outcome and was just as often proven wrong.


So that’s what I was diggin’ during the month of June.

Thoughts? Recommendations based on what I liked? Let me hear it!

kacie

2 thoughts on “Monthly Favorites – June, 2015

  1. I tried reading Dark Places once but I just didn’t get into it. But then I read Gone Girl and I fell in love with her way of writing and messing with my mind. I’ll definitely try her other books again, especially since there is a film coming out pretty soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

