Top 5 Wednesday #2 | Chapter Headings

It’s Wednesday! Hooray!

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. For a complete list of Wednesday-ers and topics, please visit the Goodreads group!


Today’s topic is a bit different and I really struggled on this one. Not many books that I read have memorable chapter headings. Most of them list either the name of the character whose point of view will be expressed that chapter or the chapter number. Not too special. However, I was able to find 5. (Click on the title of each book to be taken to their respective Goodreads pages.)

#5 – The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer

land of stories
(Note: The font is blue because I screencapped a Kindle version from Amazon.com)

I haven’t actually read this book yet, but it’s sitting on my bookshelf. I opened it up a couple of days ago to do a quick look-through and I really enjoyed the chapter headings. There are specific chapter titles and pictures to go along with each one.

#4 – Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

hp chapter

No countdown of mine would be complete without mentioning these beautiful chapter headers. As with a lot of people my age and younger, this book series was my obsession. I’ve read these books numerous times and I always pause to look at the picture above each title. When each book was released and I was reading them for the first time, I would sit and read the chapter title over and over while looking at the picture to make a prediction as to how they’d be incorporated into the chapter. Thinking back on that now, I’m kind of sad that I can no longer do that.

#3 – Revival by Stephen King

revival

This book was just “okay” to me. I’m a huge Stephen King fan and I just wasn’t all that thrilled. I read it at the beginning of June and I remember thinking, “I love the way he’s titling these chapters in this book.” Each chapter title has about three phrases like the one above. In the chapter above, the main character described another character as his “fifth business,” a dirt mountain he created as a child, and a childhood memory about something called Peaceable Lake. Each chapter title told you exactly what you were going to read.

#2 – Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Shadow-and-Bone-Chapter-Image

I just think they’re beautiful. The entire book has Russian influences and I think these chapter headings help to incorporate that feeling. Each one has the same design.

#1 – Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

throne of glass chapter

I also think these are gorgeous. ¬†At first, I thought I was looking at pieces of broken glass. As I read about Celaena being imprisoned in a salt mine (not a spoiler because it’s explained immediately), I thought that maybe I was looking at mined salt or other mined materials. Either way, I think they’re pretty.


That’s all for this week’s Top 5 Wednesday. Let me know in the comment section what you think about my choices. Tell me, what are your favorite chapter headings?


kacie

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #2 | Chapter Headings

Leave a Reply

