Book Haul #1 – June, 2015

June has been a crazy month for receiving books, which is odd for me. My bookshelf is overflowing, so I do my best to use my local library instead of purchasing books.

This will be my first “Book Haul” post. They will absolutely not be monthly. Normally, I’ll save up my new books until I get a good pile to show off.

How did I get a ton of books this month? First, let’s start with the books I purchased.

IMG_2720

  1. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo – I found this at 2nd and Charles for $3. Must buy.
  2. Гарри Поттер и Философкий Камень | Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling – I’m collecting the Russian translations!
  3. Гарри Поттер и Тайная Комната | Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling – Another Russian translation! Note: The books are in the wrong order in the picture above. Oops.
  4. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling – I should’ve taken a picture of my original hardcover copy of this book. My grandmother bought this for me the day it was released, but my sister read the book so many times and wasn’t exactly careful with it. It’s currently in three pieces. As she wouldn’t replace it, I was looking for another copy of the same edition I had. I found this one at 2nd and Charles for $6!

Now for the books I didn’t purchase. I was lucky enough to win a giveaway on YouTube hosted by BrynnsBookshelf! It was a BookCon themed giveaway so I am incredibly excited to be the winner because I really wanted to attend BookCon! Now it is kinda like I did! Anyway, here’s the loot:

IMG_2719

Five books and swag! The package included a bunch of buttons, two tote bags, two lanyards, a Sarah Dessen poster, a chapter sampler of The Young Elites, a Penguin House magnet, a We Were Liars bookmark, and the following books:

(Click on the book titles to be taken to their respective Goodreads pages)

  1. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – ARC – Expected release: September 1, 2015 – This copy is signed by the author!
  2. Another Day by David Levithan – ARC – Expected release: August 25, 2015 – This book is a companion to Every Day, which I have not read. As I understand it, however, this book can be read as a standalone.
  3. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
  4. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
  5. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – ARC – Expected release: October 20, 2015

I am so excited for each of these ARCs. You can definitely expect a full review of each in the near future.


Last but not least, my one Kindle purchase this month:

say what you willSay What You Will by Cammie McGovern – I believe it was $1.99 when I purchased it. The cover made me learn more about it. One of the main characters has cerebral palsy and the other has obsessive compulsive disorder. I immediately wanted to read it from a special education teacher’s point of view. I’m excited for it.


Whew. That was a lot.

Have you read of these books? What did you think about them?

One thought on “Book Haul #1 – June, 2015

Leave a Reply

