Top 5 Wednesday #1 | Characters you wish you could drown

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly blogging topic created by Lainey. Each week, we have a new topic to focus a Top 5 list around. If you’d like to join us, check out the Goodreads group for a list of topics as well as blogs and YouTube channels that participate.

top5

Top 5 Characters I Wish I Could Drown

I’m not going to lie; this one was a difficult list to come up with. When I’m reading, I form bonds with characters and can be pretty loyal to them. That also means that there are characters that I cannot stand. Do I want to drown them? Yes, that would make things easier, but they’re usually the catalyst to some awesome plot point. I end up loving the characters I hate for that very reason. BUT. Here are my top five characters that irk the crud out of me.

#5 – Kaltain Rompier – Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass cover If you’ve never read this book, I’m not going to spoil you. Just know that this is a character that readers aren’t supposed to like in this book. Her actions end up being explained towards the end of the book, so it’s hard to hate her.

But while I was reading it, before I learned more about her reasons, I couldn’t stand reading her sections. She was so annoying that I have no problems picturing her throwing a temper tantrum.

#4 – Thomas – The Maze Runner by James Dashner

maze runner

Dylan O’Brien, you may be somewhat attractive, but I cannot stand your character in The Maze Runner. Actually, I hated this book in general. For some of it, I blame Thomas, the main character. He gets thrown into this dystopian society consisting of only teenage boys and instead of freaking out, he acts like he owns the place. I cannot forgive him for withholding so much information throughout the book. He was overly dramatic in his thoughts and actions and I wanted to throw him down the lift shaft.

#3 – Mrs. Coulter – His Dark Materials trilogy by Phillip Pullman

his-dark-materials

This is one of my favorite book series. The first book, The Golden Compass, was turned into a fantastically awful movie. I have so much love for the book. Mrs. Coulter is one of the most influential supporting characters and she’s an obvious villain. What makes me want to drown her is the fact that she is so damn wishy-washy throughout the series. She claims to do a lot of things out of love for her daughter. However, she seems to switch sides constantly, unsure about what is best for her daughter. Honestly woman, what’s best for your daughter is to leave her alone and let her do her business. Good grief.

#2 – Joffrey Baratheon – A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Joffrey-Baratheon-Profile-HDJoffrey sucks. Plain and simple. He’s a whiny, entitled brat and tends to have people killed just to see the reaction of their loved ones. Ew.

#1 – Cersei Lannister – A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

Cersei-Lannister-Profile_2-HDWho’d’ve thought? The mother than spawned my #2 pick. I loathe this woman throughout the series and I practically jump for joy when something doesn’t go her way.

There you have it! I wish I could at least throttle them all and yell, “Look what you’ve done!” They may be awful, but they make for a good story.

~

Agree? Disagree? Let me know in the comment section below. I’d love to talk about it. Who would you like to drown?

-Kacie

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #1 | Characters you wish you could drown

Leave a Reply

